Ginger Beef Curry (Slow Cooker Version) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
This is a good recipe! I did not have any tomato paste so I left that out and put 2 cans of whole tomatoes and it came out great. At first I thought it was "too gingery" but the flavor really grew on me! Leftovers the next day were even better!! Will make again. Thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I was surprised to find such mixed reviews on this recipe. I threw this surprisingly simple recipe together last Sunday and let it simmer all day - what a delicious treat in the evening! NO bitter aftertaste was present for us. I followed the recipe pretty closely, though I didn't layer quite as suggested, rather I stirred all spice ingredients into tomato paste mixture, then mixed it up with the beef & onion - I didn't have ground coriander...also as with almost everything we make, I squeazed lime juice over it before cooking, and added more/tweaked the spices as the day wore on. This was a very underrated dish in my opinion which yielded beautiful results for my family. Thanks ChezDeb! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
This was wonderful! Note that it took about 30 minutes to prepare. I added 2 large peeled and sliced russet potatoes. I used 1/2 of a large onion, cut in 'rings,' instead of chopping the onions, and a smaller cut of meat; I cut the cayenne pepper down to 1/8 tsp. to make it less spicy. I would recommend mixing the spices with the tomato mixture; otherwise, they 'bake' on the top, and don't get mixed in. I added 1/2 tsp. salt before cooking, then another 1/2 tsp. after. Will definitely make again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I also feel as though this recipe is highly underrated! It turned out absolutely fantastic and I followed the recipe quite closely. Everyone enjoyed this supper immensely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
This recipe is simple to make and is fabulous. The spices are a unique blend and it makes the whole house smell wonderful as it cooks the entire day. I couldn't wait to try it. Everyone in my family loved it. I will definitely put this in my "make often" category. Thanks for the recipe Chezdeb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Natick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
Everyone in my picky house loved this recipe and asked if it could be added to our "regulars"! I have to admit, I added several small quartered russet potatoes and baby carrots, and left out the cilantro as we're not fans. Next time, I'll add a bit less of the heat producing spices to accommodate my tastes, though hubby and kids will be unhappy. It smelled wonderful cooking all day! Thanks for a delightful treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
These are really really good! I love cooking in my slow cooker and this is one great recipe. I didn't even have all the spices the first time and it was still really good - just don't forget the salt at the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Huntingtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
my picky Jamaican curry loving husband requested this to be a regular! I won't complain as this is so tasty and easy to make, and if it makes him happy, I'm happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
We thought this was okay, but not great. I suggest cutting back or eliminating the cinnamon and nutmeg. Maybe add real mustard seeds and cumin seeds?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
I have made this twice. First time was bad with the onions so small. Second time, cubed the onion. It was a bit better, but still not good. Meat had no taste at all. The only saving this recipe was that I had a fatty piece of meat which made enough broth to pour over the meat and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Moore, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States