Ginger Beef Curry (Slow Cooker Version) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
This recipe is simple to make and is fabulous. The spices are a unique blend and it makes the whole house smell wonderful as it cooks the entire day. I couldn't wait to try it. Everyone in my family loved it. I will definitely put this in my "make often" category. Thanks for the recipe Chezdeb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Natick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
This was wonderful! Note that it took about 30 minutes to prepare. I added 2 large peeled and sliced russet potatoes. I used 1/2 of a large onion, cut in 'rings,' instead of chopping the onions, and a smaller cut of meat; I cut the cayenne pepper down to 1/8 tsp. to make it less spicy. I would recommend mixing the spices with the tomato mixture; otherwise, they 'bake' on the top, and don't get mixed in. I added 1/2 tsp. salt before cooking, then another 1/2 tsp. after. Will definitely make again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
This is a good recipe! I did not have any tomato paste so I left that out and put 2 cans of whole tomatoes and it came out great. At first I thought it was "too gingery" but the flavor really grew on me! Leftovers the next day were even better!! Will make again. Thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
Everyone in my picky house loved this recipe and asked if it could be added to our "regulars"! I have to admit, I added several small quartered russet potatoes and baby carrots, and left out the cilantro as we're not fans. Next time, I'll add a bit less of the heat producing spices to accommodate my tastes, though hubby and kids will be unhappy. It smelled wonderful cooking all day! Thanks for a delightful treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
These are really really good! I love cooking in my slow cooker and this is one great recipe. I didn't even have all the spices the first time and it was still really good - just don't forget the salt at the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maelee Byram

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Huntingtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I was surprised to find such mixed reviews on this recipe. I threw this surprisingly simple recipe together last Sunday and let it simmer all day - what a delicious treat in the evening! NO bitter aftertaste was present for us. I followed the recipe pretty closely, though I didn't layer quite as suggested, rather I stirred all spice ingredients into tomato paste mixture, then mixed it up with the beef & onion - I didn't have ground coriander...also as with almost everything we make, I squeazed lime juice over it before cooking, and added more/tweaked the spices as the day wore on. This was a very underrated dish in my opinion which yielded beautiful results for my family. Thanks ChezDeb! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I also feel as though this recipe is highly underrated! It turned out absolutely fantastic and I followed the recipe quite closely. Everyone enjoyed this supper immensely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
my picky Jamaican curry loving husband requested this to be a regular! I won't complain as this is so tasty and easy to make, and if it makes him happy, I'm happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
We thought this was okay, but not great. I suggest cutting back or eliminating the cinnamon and nutmeg. Maybe add real mustard seeds and cumin seeds?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
I have made this twice. First time was bad with the onions so small. Second time, cubed the onion. It was a bit better, but still not good. Meat had no taste at all. The only saving this recipe was that I had a fatty piece of meat which made enough broth to pour over the meat and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Moore, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States