Ginger Beef Curry (Slow Cooker Version) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
These are really really good! I love cooking in my slow cooker and this is one great recipe. I didn't even have all the spices the first time and it was still really good - just don't forget the salt at the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Huntingtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
I was really interested by all the ingredients, and the smell cooking during the day was fine, but the end result was bland and unappetizing. I would not recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
Everyone in my picky house loved this recipe and asked if it could be added to our "regulars"! I have to admit, I added several small quartered russet potatoes and baby carrots, and left out the cilantro as we're not fans. Next time, I'll add a bit less of the heat producing spices to accommodate my tastes, though hubby and kids will be unhappy. It smelled wonderful cooking all day! Thanks for a delightful treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
We thought this was okay, but not great. I suggest cutting back or eliminating the cinnamon and nutmeg. Maybe add real mustard seeds and cumin seeds?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
This was wonderful! Note that it took about 30 minutes to prepare. I added 2 large peeled and sliced russet potatoes. I used 1/2 of a large onion, cut in 'rings,' instead of chopping the onions, and a smaller cut of meat; I cut the cayenne pepper down to 1/8 tsp. to make it less spicy. I would recommend mixing the spices with the tomato mixture; otherwise, they 'bake' on the top, and don't get mixed in. I added 1/2 tsp. salt before cooking, then another 1/2 tsp. after. Will definitely make again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
This was the most God awful recipe I've ever tried. The amount of spices totally overpowers everything. I'd try the basic recipe again, but I'd use 2 tbs. of premixed curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
This is a good recipe! I did not have any tomato paste so I left that out and put 2 cans of whole tomatoes and it came out great. At first I thought it was "too gingery" but the flavor really grew on me! Leftovers the next day were even better!! Will make again. Thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
My husband & I both like curry, but this was a far cry from anything we've had.(made by people from India or other recipes) When my husband came home he thought I was sick (it was from the smell of this recipe). My husband rinsed the "curry sauce" down the drain & tried to eat the meat. This is the WORSE recipe we've ever tried from All Recipe. It took the entire evening burning candles to get rid of the smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
I came home expecting my house to smell wonderful with this combination of spices, but instead of a wonderful smell, I was greeted by this pungent stench. Even though the smell was unappetizing, I decided to taste it anyway hoping that it tasted better than it smelled (like corned beef and cabbage tastes better than it smells), but unfortuantely for me, it tasted exactly like it smelled. I wasted money on this recipe because I had to throw it away since no one in my house would touch it. It even took me three days to get rid of the smell from the house. I am a lover of curry, but this recipe is definitely not for me. It should not even get a 1 star, but that was as low as I could rate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakhurst, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
This recipe is simple to make and is fabulous. The spices are a unique blend and it makes the whole house smell wonderful as it cooks the entire day. I couldn't wait to try it. Everyone in my family loved it. I will definitely put this in my "make often" category. Thanks for the recipe Chezdeb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Natick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States