Ginger Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
These were extremely flavorful! Yummoooo!! I was a bit concerned they were going to turn out to cake like for my taste so I did tweak the recipe a bit to insure they would have the texture of a brownie!My changes were I melted my butter and only added one egg and used slightly a bit less flour.with my changes produced a Delicious,chewy like brownie! Wonderful!!!! And to the reviewers that said they were bland add a bit more spice to them!!! you cant go wrong with this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
We both enjoyed these but then we both love ginger. I made this as written with the exception of a pinch of cloves. The texture was great and the baking time was bank on, 30 minutes. Thanks Jozi for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bren
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
These are so good I'm going to have to ban them from my house! I cannot stop eating them. Chewy, buttery, gingery, brown sugar goodness! I avoid gluten, so I used GF flour but otherwise stuck pretty close to the recipe. I added a sprinkle of nutmeg and allspice and about 1/3 cup soft diced ginger (from King Arthur Flour). Since I was adding a crystallized ginger product, I cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and used mostly dark brown sugar. The bars are nice and moist with a lovely ginger flavor. Next time (and there WILL be a next time!!) I may add some fresh ginger, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
These had the texture of chewy brownies - nice! I love molasses, so I enjoyed these bars. Four stars for the barely there ginger flavor. I may try again with fresh ginger and a bit of white pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
These were okay. Not better than the Big Soft Ginger Cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
These are amazing!! Soft chewy and delicious! I would change the wording of the recipe to "spread the batter into the pan" instead of "pour the batter into the pan". The batter is very thick and not very pourable. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
These were great. I love the idea of a something you can eat like a brownie but has a change from all the chocolate recipes out there. I think I undercooked mine a little bit but it was still great. When it came time to 'pour' the mix into the pan I thought perhaps I had made a mistake along the line as it was a thick batter that needed to be spooned into the pan and spread out. I think the wording was just a little off. I also had to use two cups of all purpose flour as I didn't have any whole wheat flour available. Still great but I might try to get some whole wheat flour for next time to see the difference. I also used golden syrup in place of molasses as that is what I had in the pantry. It was quick and easy to prepare before starting dinner. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Made these as directed and drizzled icing from a spice bar recipe over the top. That wasn't enough help for these. They were bland. Won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
These are really, really goooood! Only changes I made in the recipe were increasing ginger to 1T; decreasing sugar to 1 1/4c & salt to 1/2t;& 1/2c butter w 2T olive oil. I changed preparation just a little, too. It just didn't seem right as listed. I mixed the butter & sugar, then oil & molasses, then added vanilla & eggs one at a time. I put the ginger in with the flour. In a glass 9x13, done in 25. I made one cookie - just to see - since the batter was cookie/brownie-like. Soft & good, but cookies would need more flour therefore changing the flavor. Go for the ginger brownies. They're not all that pretty, but you're not baking them to look at now, are ya?! :D I didn't notice a big change in intensity of ginger as others did after a couple days, but they are still yummy & not sticky - as you might think they'd become. 'Haven't tried, but French vanilla ice cream & caramel sauce sound divine with these babies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Mmm. Yes. Very much like a moist gingery blond brownie. With the relatively low ratio of liquid to dry ingredients, you'll probably find yourself spreading instead of pouring the batter into the pan. I'll probably add a whole tablespoon of ginger next time; if you, too, really love ginger, I'd go ahead and add that amount the first time you make this. If you're looking for something that tastes a little more like a traditional ginger cookie, you might want to add some cinnamon and cloves as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toomanycooks

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States