Ginger and Spice Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Loved them!! Even the kids and husband liked them. They taste like pumpkin pie:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
These cookies came out amazing! I was afraid they were going to be too strong, but I was way off! They were great warm out of the oven and my family loved them. I sprinkled a little extra sugar on them to make them a tad bit sweeter. I will be using this recipe again for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
These were very good! I halved the recipe and subbed half the flour for whole wheat. I also added in chopped crystalized ginger for an extra ginger kick and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Nice, rich flavor. Great with coffee on a cold winter morning! I chilled the dough a little before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
These were the best. They never got hard. Oh soooo YUMMY. I used a tablespoon size cookie scoop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Delicious and simple, these came out better than I expected! I pressed them down a little bit and them came out with a crispy shell and soft inside. Even the bf, who doesn't like sweets and only crunchy cookies, declared these his new favorite. I sprayed the measuring cup with Pam before measuring the molasses so it wouldn't stick. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kendall Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Franklin Park, New Jersey, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
These aren't bad, but they lack a bit of oomph for me. or star power. whatever you want to call it. The spices just don't shine in these cookies, and I'm a little addicted to flavor. They aren't bad, though, just not up to my standards, weird as they are. ;o) I made the dough this morning and had to put it in the fridge, which led to very small very round cookies that didn't flatten until I squashed them with a spatula. Don't know if it would happen again if I didn't refrigerate, but at least they flatten well. I flattened after baking and before baking; I think I prefer flattening immediately after baking bc they crinkle up and don't look so uninteresting if you flatten before baking. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Loved these. Did not have molasses at home so instead used honey and used some brown sugar in with the white sugar. Made half the recipe. Delish. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This recipe is fantastic! I love the light flavor and how many it makes. I like to use a cookie press so I changed a few things to make it work. First I added 1/4 cup water to make it squeezable. I changed the temp to 325f and shortened the cooking time to 7 min for smaller designs and 10 min for the larger ones. It worked perfectly. Perfect with tea or coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieMonster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Made the recipe as-is except for two things. One, I had no ground cloves so I used all spice. Two, I found the batter sweet enough without rolling the cookies in sugar so I left that step out. The taste was great. My only complaint is that after they had cooled for 10 or 15 minutes, the outsides were mighty hard. I've thrown them in the refrigerator in a sealed box. I'll see how they are later tonight. Update: the cookies out of the fridge are actually better than they were at room temperature. The outsides are certainly stiffer than the middle but not 'hard' and I'm pleased with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aredendra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States