Ginataang Manok (Chicken Cooked in Coconut Milk) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Wonderful tasting, easy recipe! I didn't have fresh ginger so I used powdered. I also used boneless chicken breasts, and only one can of coconut milk because that's all I had. And it was still delicious! Even my kids loved it ... and ate the spinach. *shock* I'd like to try this recipe exactly the way it's written sometime. I'm sure it would be even better. I served this over jasmine rice with a side of stir-fried veggies (eggplant, zucchini, red and yellow peppers). Delicious, healthy, quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Sonnichsen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prosser, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I made this exactly as directed and served with jasmine rice. Followed another's recommendation and added sliced green onion which was a great touch. I really liked this recipe and plan to make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This is my recipe submission, and of course, I love this dish having grown up eating this at my mother's table. It is definitely rich and not for the calorie counters! I can see why some call it a greasy dish as it uses skin-on chicken in addition to rich, creamy coconut milk. If you prefer a lighter version (as my husband does) just use boneless skinless chicken breasts. You won't get the same depth of flavor without the chicken fat, but it will still be very tasty and a bit lighter in the belly. Also, some tasty additions I've found for this recipe are a bit of chopped garlic and thinly sliced yellow squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Delicious -- please note I did not follow the recipe as written, however like other reviewers have mentioned, the flavor combination was a great starting point. How I cooked this: Heated 1 Tbsp butter in a pot that I could cover later, browned 2 chicken breasts on both sides in the butter. After browning, I cut the chicken into smaller pieces to cook faster. I added 1 can of coconut milk into the pot and also added ground ginger, garlic powder and onion powder, salt and pepper. Cooked with lid slightly propped open for about 20 minutes. Threw in some pre-washed spinach leaves and it was good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
while making this i confess i didnt think it would turn out so good. but i quite like it and will b making again once i have all ingredients. like others suggested, i used chicken breast and added some garlic. i halved the recipe and added fresh milk tomards the end too as it got kinda dry.(didnt have anymore coconut milk). will try to make the original 'with fat' version some time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Nwankwo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
good dish i add 2 tai chili peppers and garlic we likeit alot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oscar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
this was so good and simple to make after a long day of work! I added one small clove of garlic, used a combo of fresh and powdered ground ginger, 2 chicken breasts, and one can of coconut milk. Didn't have any spinach...I served it with rice over a bed of romaine. Definitely a winner, and I'm sure I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I like this recipe. I make variations every time, but the basic idea is yum and my whole family likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States