Ginataang Manok (Chicken Cooked in Coconut Milk) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Wonderful tasting, easy recipe! I didn't have fresh ginger so I used powdered. I also used boneless chicken breasts, and only one can of coconut milk because that's all I had. And it was still delicious! Even my kids loved it ... and ate the spinach. *shock* I'd like to try this recipe exactly the way it's written sometime. I'm sure it would be even better. I served this over jasmine rice with a side of stir-fried veggies (eggplant, zucchini, red and yellow peppers). Delicious, healthy, quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyLynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prosser, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
The flavors were good and the recipe was simple enough, but this meal was VERY greasy. I followed the recipe exactly and served it over rice as suggested, and I feel very bloated. Not sure if it is the chicken or the coconut that makes it so fatty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABALONE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kidron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
this was so good and simple to make after a long day of work! I added one small clove of garlic, used a combo of fresh and powdered ground ginger, 2 chicken breasts, and one can of coconut milk. Didn't have any spinach...I served it with rice over a bed of romaine. Definitely a winner, and I'm sure I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
There was nothing good about this dish. Did not like the flavor at all and the sauce was watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This is my recipe submission, and of course, I love this dish having grown up eating this at my mother's table. It is definitely rich and not for the calorie counters! I can see why some call it a greasy dish as it uses skin-on chicken in addition to rich, creamy coconut milk. If you prefer a lighter version (as my husband does) just use boneless skinless chicken breasts. You won't get the same depth of flavor without the chicken fat, but it will still be very tasty and a bit lighter in the belly. Also, some tasty additions I've found for this recipe are a bit of chopped garlic and thinly sliced yellow squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Put this together in my dutch oven. I'm not a fan of dark meat, and my family is only 3 people large, so I made this with a pound of breast, and only 1 can of coconut milk. Used the whole package of spinach and all suggested ginger for extra flavor. It was still too bland for me, so I shook in a healthy amount of garlic powder and ground ginger at the end (and of course more salt). Served with brown rice, and the family really enjoyed it. I will definitely make this again - thank you for sharing your family recipe!! Even though I tweaked it to my tastes, I still really appreciate the starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Makalika

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buckeye, Arizona, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Delicious -- please note I did not follow the recipe as written, however like other reviewers have mentioned, the flavor combination was a great starting point. How I cooked this: Heated 1 Tbsp butter in a pot that I could cover later, browned 2 chicken breasts on both sides in the butter. After browning, I cut the chicken into smaller pieces to cook faster. I added 1 can of coconut milk into the pot and also added ground ginger, garlic powder and onion powder, salt and pepper. Cooked with lid slightly propped open for about 20 minutes. Threw in some pre-washed spinach leaves and it was good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I like this recipe. I make variations every time, but the basic idea is yum and my whole family likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
ok - i used chicken breasts and ground ginger too bc that is what I had- and added patis, onion and fresh garlic.. what Filipino dish is complete with out Patis? I think it needs more flavor- I am going to add some other things- and that will turn it into a whole new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States