Ginataang Manok (Chicken Cooked in Coconut Milk) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I am always looking for way to use foods like spinach and kale. This was good, you can use two great healthy foods, chicken breast and spinach, but the curry adds a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
The good: chicken cooked in coconut milk is incredibly soft and moist. I used boneless breasts. The not-so-good: I thought this was rather bland. In addition to following the recipe, I used green onion, parsley, ground ginger, garlic, curry powder & cayenne. As I was tasting it, it just needed more & more flavor. I kept adding spices & salt. My family liked it but I do not think I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Very delicious! My Filipino bf said it brought back memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy671

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Other people that ate dinner at my house that night raved about this recipe but for me it was flat, not enough distinction between flavours for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Very good basic dish... I too thought it was a bit heavy the way it's written but I re-made it based on some of the other reviews and it was GREAT! Cubed some chicken breast, browned it in butter. Then simmered together the coconut milk, chicken, and spices (I used ginger, fresh crushed garlic, crushed and powdered ginger, salt, pepper... next time I will try adding rosemary or a bay leaf!) for about 20 minutes. Then added fresh spinich, simmered for 2 minutes and served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I made this exactly as directed and served with jasmine rice. Followed another's recommendation and added sliced green onion which was a great touch. I really liked this recipe and plan to make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
while making this i confess i didnt think it would turn out so good. but i quite like it and will b making again once i have all ingredients. like others suggested, i used chicken breast and added some garlic. i halved the recipe and added fresh milk tomards the end too as it got kinda dry.(didnt have anymore coconut milk). will try to make the original 'with fat' version some time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Nwankwo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
good dish i add 2 tai chili peppers and garlic we likeit alot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oscar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
ok - i used chicken breasts and ground ginger too bc that is what I had- and added patis, onion and fresh garlic.. what Filipino dish is complete with out Patis? I think it needs more flavor- I am going to add some other things- and that will turn it into a whole new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States