Gina's Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I liked the flavor of this pound cake, but it was a little heavy and dense for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
This was NOT a moist cake, but then, pound cakes aren't generally moist. I was disappointed with this recipe - made it for Christmas for my family. The cooking time was way off - like 15-20 minutes. I don't believe it was a problem with my oven as I've never experience that before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
The best ever. I made it for a family gathering and I experimented with amaretto liquor and I got great raves. The original recipe tastes great too with the orange flavoring. Thanks Gina
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
This recipe was easy to make and looked very nice. The flavor however was very bland and I tried to make it better but nothing worked and ended up throwing it away. A waste of ingredients. Very dry. Will not try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
Great taste for all the time involved, made me wish I had a food processor, but would reccommend highly for a family gathering. Will feed many people because it is so rich you cant take large slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
This cake was great. This was the first time I made a cake from scatch and it came out just right, and it's so moist, it stays moist forever. Exellent cake Gina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
In my personal opinion this cake did not live up to the claim of being moist. After tasting it I was upset that I had waisted so many eggs on such a dry cake. I wasn't that thrilled with the flavor either...on the fruity side; but that is a matter of personal opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
I love this pound cake. It tastes great and freeze well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
My 4 year old daughter and I made this delicious pound cake for my husband's birthday. He always asks for one and most recipes I've tried end up too dry. This cake was very moist and needed nothing to go with it. We just sprinkled a bit of powdered sugar on top for looks. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
This was the best pound cake I ever made. I am a baker, and this cake was great!!!! I use brown extra large eggs, which seem to make the cake even richer. I had never thought to use orange extract blended, with the other flavorings. It was simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

No-Bake Cheesecake Flag Cake

A light, sweet, no-bake cheesecake topped with fresh berries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States