Gina's Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I made this recipe for my sister, and she loved it. Although it wasn't the recipe she wanted, she still loved this one. She liked the sweetness and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I was actually looking for another recipe when I found this one. Sounded good so I decided to try it last night. I added a package of strawberry gelatin mix to the batter, baked it as directed, cooled it and drizzled it with a thick confectioner's glaze. I'm getting a lot of praise for this cake. Thanks Gina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scottley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartsville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Just made this cake..was light and oh so wonderful.You couldn't ask for a better pound cake. Sorry for those that it didn't work for..you missed out!! The only thing I did different was I preheated my oven..I'm a preheater..I took it out after 1 hour and 25 mins..the top is sooo crunchy and yummy..topping with a glaze and shared with the neighbors! I tried to upload a picture but it needs to be resized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Best. Cake. Ever!!! I will never buy another store bought pound cake. Gina's recipe had the best taste, texture, and was perfectly moist and incredible. 10 stars - this is my new favorite! Only thing I didn't have on hand was the orange extract so I used vanilla and almond. Beautiful & delicious cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
My husband's coworker's devoured the entire thing! It went over very despite my hitting "broil" instead of bake to start the cake! I had to scrape off the thick burned crust and put it back in! Thankfully, it turned out fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Easy and wonderful homemade recipe! Moist and delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Absolutely wonderful! I tried this cake today and it was both beautiful and delicious. The recipe was easy and this is one which I will definitely make again. My mother is known as the family pound cake queen---- until today! I am looking forward to sharing this with the family during the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pembroke, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This turned out dry. I've had much better and won't try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is the best pound cake recipe I have saw yet and this is a keeper. I have not even sliced it yet nut you just know from the batter how good the cake is. U can tell that the cake is moist and very soft. The only think I did diffferent was that I added a 1/2 cup of heavy cream. So I alternated the flour and milk. Flour first, then a little milk and on and on but always end with flour. I did not use the flavorings that the recipe listed I used 3tsp of vanilla and 3 tsp butter and the smell is amazing. Otherwise I followed the recipe to a T. Thanks for this recipe this is a keeper for sure!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This cake was the 2nd pound cake I had ever baked and it came out wonderfully!! I did not have any orange flavoring so I used 1 teaspoon of lemon and 1 tsp of vanilla. I used a bundt pan and the cake came out clean an evenly colored. I had never baked a cake without preheating the oven and I think this will be my choice for baking pound cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrondaT
Home Town: Ringgold, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

No-Bake Cheesecake Flag Cake

A light, sweet, no-bake cheesecake topped with fresh berries.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States