Gina's Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
WOW! I just threw out my favorite pound cake recipe that I had been using for 30 years. This is hands down a new favorite! I really like trying new recipes exactly as written, but I did not have lemon extract. I used 1 1/2 teaspoons of orange extract with 1 teaspoon of vanilla. I also took a cup of sifted 2x sugar, 1/4 cup orange juice and half a tablespoon butter and heated it up, whisked it and poured it over half of the cake to let it soak in. I wanted to taste the cake without the glaze...so I only poured it over half of the cake. Without the glaze and with are fantastic! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This is a decent pound cake, but nothing all that special--at least in my opinion, but I will admit I'm difficult to impress when it comes to pound cakes. I made this for a work party and received numerous compliments. Not sure about the baking time on this--it's a little off for my oven. I think I'll just bake a bit extra (about 15 minutes) instead next time. I did add another half teaspoon of orange extract to make it more orange-y per request. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I made this recipe for my sister, and she loved it. Although it wasn't the recipe she wanted, she still loved this one. She liked the sweetness and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I was actually looking for another recipe when I found this one. Sounded good so I decided to try it last night. I added a package of strawberry gelatin mix to the batter, baked it as directed, cooled it and drizzled it with a thick confectioner's glaze. I'm getting a lot of praise for this cake. Thanks Gina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scottley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartsville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Just made this cake..was light and oh so wonderful.You couldn't ask for a better pound cake. Sorry for those that it didn't work for..you missed out!! The only thing I did different was I preheated my oven..I'm a preheater..I took it out after 1 hour and 25 mins..the top is sooo crunchy and yummy..topping with a glaze and shared with the neighbors! I tried to upload a picture but it needs to be resized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Best. Cake. Ever!!! I will never buy another store bought pound cake. Gina's recipe had the best taste, texture, and was perfectly moist and incredible. 10 stars - this is my new favorite! Only thing I didn't have on hand was the orange extract so I used vanilla and almond. Beautiful & delicious cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
My husband's coworker's devoured the entire thing! It went over very despite my hitting "broil" instead of bake to start the cake! I had to scrape off the thick burned crust and put it back in! Thankfully, it turned out fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Easy and wonderful homemade recipe! Moist and delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Absolutely wonderful! I tried this cake today and it was both beautiful and delicious. The recipe was easy and this is one which I will definitely make again. My mother is known as the family pound cake queen---- until today! I am looking forward to sharing this with the family during the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pembroke, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This turned out dry. I've had much better and won't try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

No-Bake Cheesecake Flag Cake

A light, sweet, no-bake cheesecake topped with fresh berries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States