Gina's Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I made this EXACTLY the way the recipe said and it was perfect. Doesn't have the oily moistness that store bought pound cake has. Drizzled a simple orange glaze made w/ 10x and orange juice concentrate and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
A very moist and delicious cake - - - though personally would prefer a stronger flavor. Next time I will TRIPLE the amount of lemon and maybe even add some rind and real juice..... otherwise AWESOME - rich and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CdnJessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
We really enjoyed this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I'm sorry to say-this cake was dry. I cooked it less time than indicated on the recipe so as to avoid dryness. The flavor is fine, but if I were to make it again, I would use oil instead of the butter. I'm certain this would make the cake much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Okay, after many attempts at other recipes, this is the one that my fiance goes crazy for (he's the REAL pound cake lover)! It's moist and turns out beautifully every time I've made it. I noted that there are some folks that said it turned out dry and I can't understand how. This one is a keeper, for sure - both for taste & ease. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacki_In_Simi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arleta, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This turned out very well and the taste was absolutely delicious. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
My most favorite pound cake recipe. I tweak the flavorings as desired for different outcomes and it's always great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This is a wonderful pound cake. My familys favorite for parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
i tried another pound cake recipe and this one is by far the best...my husband a huge pound cake lover really liked. that one great recipe!!! PS- ....I suggest adding 2 or 2 and a half cups of sugar instead of 3,if you don't want it too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
This is a good, solid recipe. I only used 2 cups of sugar and used almond and vanilla extracts. I thought the cake would dry out a bit while letting it sit in the oven but it turned out beautiful and delicious. A must try recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHCRIPE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: North Bend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

No-Bake Cheesecake Flag Cake

A light, sweet, no-bake cheesecake topped with fresh berries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States