Gina's Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is the best pound cake recipe I have saw yet and this is a keeper. I have not even sliced it yet nut you just know from the batter how good the cake is. U can tell that the cake is moist and very soft. The only think I did diffferent was that I added a 1/2 cup of heavy cream. So I alternated the flour and milk. Flour first, then a little milk and on and on but always end with flour. I did not use the flavorings that the recipe listed I used 3tsp of vanilla and 3 tsp butter and the smell is amazing. Otherwise I followed the recipe to a T. Thanks for this recipe this is a keeper for sure!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This cake was the 2nd pound cake I had ever baked and it came out wonderfully!! I did not have any orange flavoring so I used 1 teaspoon of lemon and 1 tsp of vanilla. I used a bundt pan and the cake came out clean an evenly colored. I had never baked a cake without preheating the oven and I think this will be my choice for baking pound cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrondaT
Home Town: Ringgold, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I made this cake exactly as the recipe is written and took it to a church dinner. It was placed on the dessert table next to a pound cake that looked just like it. Not a crumb was left of my pound cake while the other cake was only half eaten. I'll make this again - my husband and grandkids gave it 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Just what a pound cake should be - crusty on the outside, moist on the inside. Absolutely delicious and so easy to make! Made it twice in two weeks for two different occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
THIS IS DIIFENTILY THE BEST POUND CAKE RECIPE OUT THERE. MADE THIS CAKE FOR MY MOMS BIRTHDAY I PUT VINILLA ICING AND COCONUT AND PINEAPPLE ON IT, MY BROTHER SAID IT WAS THE BEST CAKE I EVER MADE, IT WAS A FLUKE AND I WILL NEVER MAKE IT AGAIN.I DID FOR HIS BIRTHDAY HE LOVED IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shearer 1405

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This recipe is AMAZING! This was my first pound cake, and it turned out to be the best I have ever had! Very moist- and the orange/lemon flavor really gives it something extra! Thank you Gina for sharing this great recipe, I can't wait to make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
A really good, basic-flavor pound-cake recipe. I had to bake it a bit longer because the tester came out still covered with batter at 65 minutes. I may have baked it a smidge too long, because it was a tad on the dry side. But the flavor is great, and I love the crisp top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Being from the Czech republic- I know a lot about bundt cakes. I tried this one and it came out amazingly delicious. The perfect pound cake taste and flavor+ ideal moisture. Definitely 5 stars to this recipe and to Gina. PS: I made it 2 days ago and making a new one today since the whole cake is gone(two people)now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This is a recipe everyone should have in their files. Do not understand reviewers that said it didn't have enough flavor and wasn't moist. Definitely have to use butter and beating is very, very important. Thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I really like this recipe! The cake came out moist and had alot of flavor. I would recommend using room temperature butter and cream cheese. This gives the cake a lighter texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

No-Bake Cheesecake Flag Cake

A light, sweet, no-bake cheesecake topped with fresh berries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States