Gil's Brioche French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I used the brioche recipe on this site to make this french toast. My husband liked it but I thought it was bleh. The strawberry sauce was kind of tart. If I make it again I will add some sugar. The whipped cream wasn't too great but it may have been the heavy creamer I used. I will probably make this again but with some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Sounds lovely, as I am about to prepare some French Toast, and thanks for posting. Happy Holidays, Margaux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I loved this recipe. I made a brioche recipe (gasp!) from another website because I didn't have enough eggs to make the recipe on this one. I'd like to try it again after a grocery trip . . . with a more authentic brioche, but I imagine this would be tasty with regular bread or even Texas toast. The flavors were simply amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I made brioche yesterday in culinary school and my professor said that it made the best french toast and I had to try it. I found this recipe (didn't use the toppings) and it was amazing. The brioche soaks up so much of the eggs and cream mixture that the final result is almost custardy. I can see why this is the true french bread for french toast! While I have enjoyed challah in the past for this, the enriched eggy butteriness of brioche is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I made french toast twice yesterday. The first time was my amateur way of just dipping bread into eggs. Then found this recipe and tried it again for dinner after a visit to the store for the missing ingredients I needed. Just the smell alone told us how yummy we could expect this time would be. The taste blew us away - it was the first time my husband really had good french toast. I didn't even whip the cream right this time (so I dribbled it on like syrup) and it was still so delightful. I want to try to whip it next time. I did make a simple mistake, but I think it paid off - I added the sugar and vanilla to the egg/cream mixture so all that flavor soaked into the bread too. I made this using gluten-free bread and my husband even worried a little asking me which bread I used (due to allergy) because he couldn't believe it tasted so great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarakyong

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This recipe is AMAZING! My husband said that it is restaurant quality. I made a half batch and it was plenty for the two of us! The brioche is a great change up from regular bread. It is also great with raspberries or maple syrup! Thank you for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
a real crowd pleaser! so divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edinburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
if your looking to surprise your special someone with a beautiful decadent breakfast in bed try this recipe with the addition of banana's and a little Grand Marnier (to taste in the fruit while it makes its sweet syrup) HEAVEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Acushnet, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This dish was incredible! I used Challah bread cut thickly. We (2 of us) gobbled down half a loaf! To save calories/fat I sauteed apples in margarine for the topping and omitted the whipped cream. Still decadent and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Yum, yum, yum, yum, yum! This was easy and delicious. I used the brioche recipe on this site to go with this and it was the best french toast ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States