Gigantes (Greek Lima Beans) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I liked this, but the beans need to be cooked longer that the recipe says to get them done all the way before you put them in the oven. I have also made it using canned giant butter beans and I think that way is much better and takes a lot less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Simply Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I followed this exactly the first time, but it was oily and needed more flavour. The next time, I used only a scant 1/4 cup of oil and added more garlic, pepper and mixed herbs. A drizzle of balsamic vinaigrette when serving made it perfect - just like they serve on the continent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Extremely tasty! We have made this often over the last few years, and I have substituted different varieties of canned tomatoes; every batch still seems to come out very tasty. I've even used pizza sauce the last few times- still delicious! Thank you for this recipe; I now have a go-to recipe for lima beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I reduced the oil to 1/3 c. and increased the dill. 1 1/2 hours in the oven was plenty of time and this turned out delicious. I served it with feta cheese and kalamata olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I love this recipe, one of my favorites. I substitute grape seed oil for olive oil. It's better for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
I loved this recipe, however, I automatically cut the amount of oil to 1/3 c. I also added more garlic. Made a whole pyrex dish and it was gone in a day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Must give a big thumbs up. I did modify a little Texas style: used roasted garlic and a can of Rotel Hot (too much salt boo). Turned me into a Lima bean lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I was looking for a way to make lima beans interesting and I only had 20 mins to make them. I cooked frozen beans on the stovetop in boiling water (per the package instructions) then stuck them in the oven with chopped fresh tomatoes, minced garlic, dill, olive oil, and added feta cheese afterward like someone in the comments suggested. They did not look like the picture at all because I did not cook them long but the flavor was great and my family loved them. Thanks for making lima beans tasty! I'll try the long recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Great...just too much oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States