Giblet Gravy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
Phenomenal! This had an intense and wonderful flavor, even BEFORE I added the drippings from the turkey. And once I added those (from an applewood-smoked turkey cooked in a water smoker, with a basting sauce that included Pepsi-Cola of all things), it was one of the best gravies I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ComputerUp

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
Thanks for posting this old fashioned recipe. My grandmother, who passed away two years ago, made giblet gravy when I was growing up and I wanted to do the same for my family but couldn't locate a recipe like hers until now. I love teaching my two girls, ages 4 and 10, to cook and this will be a recipe I will pass along to them. THANKS FOR THANKSGIVING MEMORIES OF YESTER YEAR AND THE ONES TO COME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartsville, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Florence, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This is very similiar to my grandmother's recipe. We are a military family and don't often get to go home for the holidays, so when I found this recipe I thought it would be a great substitute for grandmother's gravy. I did make changes leaving out the celery and onion and milk. I used flour as opposed to cornstarch, and added some Emeril Turkey rub seasoning to the gravy. I am quite please with this stand in recipe. Regardless of whether you use cornstarch or flour as a thickening agent I find that it helps to pour the gravy into a seperate container, and then sprinkle the flour in the bottom of the sauce pan, and then pour about 2-3 Tablespoons of the gravy in the flour, and stir until it's smooth, and then pour the rest of the gravy in continue cooking until thick (obviously continue stirring it also.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Found this in the middle of my first time cooking on Thanksgiving morning while my sister and I were trying to figure out what to do with giblets. It was pretty good and made a lot. We like thin gravy in our family, so I didn't end up adding all the cornstarch and milk, maybe about a quarter of it. I skipped the egg, because I have seen that at someone's house before, and was weirded out by the look of it floating in there. If I can ever bring myself to touch giblets again (ewww), I would definitely use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
This was great, the only thing I did different was added 2 buillion chicken cubes to richen the flavor, and added chicken livers for the stock. My husband absolutely dispises the giblets so I strained it out for him. He loved the flavor of the gravy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
For some reason, when we saw that eggs were an ingredient in this gravy, it actually sounded pretty good. So, we weren't surprised that we liked it. We were surprised at how much we liked the recipe as a whole! This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akfilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Maron Di Brugnera, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Outstanding! Made this giblet gravy for my FIRST Thanksgiving dinner. I cooked the giblets in broth instead of water. I then seived and used the broth for the base of the gravy. The pan drippings made this gravy especially tasty. Thanks for a great recipe that I'll be using over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Endwell, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
very tasty and easy to make. It will be my "every year" gravy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
We really liked this recipe. We had never made gravy with eggs before, but we all liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Great Gravy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Giblet Gravy I

This gravy is rich and delicious. It's great for holidays or any time!

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States