Giblet Gravy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I used this recipe for Thanksgiving. It has a wonderful flavor but it was not quite thick enough. I will make again but use more thickening. Maybe use the butter/flour roux method for more body to the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjd1247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Great recipe, true old-fashioned giblet gravy!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrcmltn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Heber Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
it is not supposed to be like flour gravy super thick. i have made this same exact gravy since i was 14 and i still get asked gor the recipe. Mary48 trust me its great real Alabama flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pilot Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This gravy is FANTASTIC! I have made it the last two years for Thanksgiving, as well as Christmas dinner this past year. It has a wonderful flavor. Take it off the heat a little before it reaches the consistency you prefer. The gravy will thicken as it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Our son has me make this every year for him tom take to his work on thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Slapout, Alabama, USA
Living In: Holtville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Guys, this gravy is supposed to be thin, almost even nearly clear...this is classic giblet gravy not a roux gravy and it is usually for pouring over the turkey if it needs moisture and over good old fashioned cornbread stuffing. If you thicken it, that's to your liking but it changes the original recipe. Maybe it's an aquired taste but it is definitely supposed to be thin and chock full of chopped eggs. I grew up on this recipe and have loved being able to find it again since most gravies are thicker and start with a roux...thanks so much for helping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kymbrown1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I made as stated using less chicken broth and more of the turkey drippings, nice flavor, I ended up using 3 times as much cornstarch to get it to thicken properly. The only change I would make in the future is to use less chicken broth and more turkey drippings since it seemed to have more of a chicken flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Excellent recipe, best I have found. I added alittle more corn starch, I like it just abit thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Giblet Gravy I

This gravy is rich and delicious. It's great for holidays or any time!

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States