Giblet Gravy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2000
This recipe was chunkier than the giblet gravy I'm used to. Next time I would not cut up the meat and add it back, and I would not add the egg yolks, only the whites. We had to add extra corn starch to get it to thicken too, maybe it is supposed to be thin gravy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
I fixed this recipe on Thanksgiving and my father loved it! I didn't fix a turkey so I purchased a package of chicken gizzards and used those. My other guests said that it doesn't look like gravy they are use to but they equally enjoyed it. Next time, though, I will probably use a little more water and water it down like real gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2000
First time I had to make giblet gravy. I had to add more corn starch than the recipe called for since my family is used to thicker gravy. And the chopped egg whites weirded out some of my family so I think I'll just use the yolks next time. Came out really flavorful though, and will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
Phenomenal! This had an intense and wonderful flavor, even BEFORE I added the drippings from the turkey. And once I added those (from an applewood-smoked turkey cooked in a water smoker, with a basting sauce that included Pepsi-Cola of all things), it was one of the best gravies I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ComputerUp

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Just a helpful hint. Instead of cornstarch, try melting 1-2 sticks of margarine in a pan, and gradually add flour till you reach your preferred thickness. Then just add to the broth. This will way out all the worries of it being to thick or to thin. Aside from this, the recipe is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
The taste of this recipe was great and reminded me a lot of my grandmother's. I did have to add more cornstarch than the recipe called for (4 tablespoons) and still it was a tad thinner than I am used to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
very tasty and easy to make. It will be my "every year" gravy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
This gravy recipe needs more cornstarch added, especially if you don't like your gravy to end up like liquid soup on your taters. Other then that it is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
Very Good! I recently made a turkey - something that I almost never cook - and decided to make giblet gravy to go with it. I am a package gravy gal and have never made gravy from scratch - I do cook quite a bit but gravy has always been something I left to someone else. This recipe was easy and very delicious. I did not chop up the giblets after they were cooked to put them back into the gravy however. I just made the broth from them. I did use more of the turkey drippings and less chicken broth - this turkey was very juicy and the drippings made the gravy richer than the chicken broth would have. This recipe is a keeper and I will definately make this gravy with every turkey. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
i made this for thanksgiving ...it did not go over too well with my guests...i liked it..but i do think if anyone attempt to make this recipe...add cornstarch...and only use 2 1/2 eggs or less......but the taste was alright otherwise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Giblet Gravy I

This gravy is rich and delicious. It's great for holidays or any time!

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States