Giblet Gravy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Outstanding! Made this giblet gravy for my FIRST Thanksgiving dinner. I cooked the giblets in broth instead of water. I then seived and used the broth for the base of the gravy. The pan drippings made this gravy especially tasty. Thanks for a great recipe that I'll be using over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Endwell, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This is very similiar to my grandmother's recipe. We are a military family and don't often get to go home for the holidays, so when I found this recipe I thought it would be a great substitute for grandmother's gravy. I did make changes leaving out the celery and onion and milk. I used flour as opposed to cornstarch, and added some Emeril Turkey rub seasoning to the gravy. I am quite please with this stand in recipe. Regardless of whether you use cornstarch or flour as a thickening agent I find that it helps to pour the gravy into a seperate container, and then sprinkle the flour in the bottom of the sauce pan, and then pour about 2-3 Tablespoons of the gravy in the flour, and stir until it's smooth, and then pour the rest of the gravy in continue cooking until thick (obviously continue stirring it also.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thedailygourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
Thanks for posting this old fashioned recipe. My grandmother, who passed away two years ago, made giblet gravy when I was growing up and I wanted to do the same for my family but couldn't locate a recipe like hers until now. I love teaching my two girls, ages 4 and 10, to cook and this will be a recipe I will pass along to them. THANKS FOR THANKSGIVING MEMORIES OF YESTER YEAR AND THE ONES TO COME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartsville, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Florence, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Very good. Tried last year. Similar to my Mom's recipe, except for the eggs, and I always add the turkey drippings. My family doesn't even know I've added the giblets to it because I learned to use a food processor to really mash them and then add it to the gravy. As this recipe had eggs which we are unacustomed to, I added 2 eggs to the giblets when using the food processor. It came out with a good texture and slighly different tast. I also use WONDRA brand flour to thicken the gravy , as I have found it rewards me with less lumps:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Made this for Christmas dinner. Everyone seemed to like it. Made it exactly from recipe. My only complaint was that it didn't seem to thicken much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
For some reason, when we saw that eggs were an ingredient in this gravy, it actually sounded pretty good. So, we weren't surprised that we liked it. We were surprised at how much we liked the recipe as a whole! This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akfilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Maron Di Brugnera, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
Try as I might - this turned out so very runny. It would not thicken up based on the 2 TBS of cornstarch. I had to add 2 more to get a gravy texture. I always use egg in my gravy but this looked more like an egg gravy. 2 eggs would have been plenty. Thanks for sharing. With a little modifying this one turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
I made this for my first Thanksgiving dinner. It came out really good except I burnt the giblets by letting the water boil all the way down, it was an entertaining day, smoke detectors and all. But the gravy was kinda salty, but everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
very tasty. i also added more cornstarch. my egg slices didn't come out very pretty so i ended up blending the whole thing. gave it a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
We really liked this recipe. We had never made gravy with eggs before, but we all liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Giblet Gravy I

This gravy is rich and delicious. It's great for holidays or any time!

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States