Giblet Gravy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
The recipe calls for cooking the liver. I thought this was supposed to be omitted since it is bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This gravy was easy to make and very good. I did change it up a bit. I omitted the eggs and celery, and added more cornstarch to thicken it up to my own liking. The taste was great and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This was my first time ever making real gravy. I was nervous, to say the least. But this recipe was EASY and tasted PERFECT! Everybody loved it at my table today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Farwell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Really good, we have had this 2 Thanksgivings in a row and definitely a keeper! The family now looks forward to it each year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicana_peach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Found this in the middle of my first time cooking on Thanksgiving morning while my sister and I were trying to figure out what to do with giblets. It was pretty good and made a lot. We like thin gravy in our family, so I didn't end up adding all the cornstarch and milk, maybe about a quarter of it. I skipped the egg, because I have seen that at someone's house before, and was weirded out by the look of it floating in there. If I can ever bring myself to touch giblets again (ewww), I would definitely use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneeMorrow
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Really good. I made this for my first time cooking a thanksgiving meal for my family. It was great, the only complaint was that it's a little too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneeMorrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
The complaints about it being too thin were right. I used less liquid, but it was thin and lacked taste. I probably will try again but with half the liquid, chicken broth instead of water and more turkey drippings. I added fewer boiled eggs at the suggestion of others, but I wish I had added more. I was looking for something closer to my grandmother's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
We did not enjoy this recipe and the eggs did not help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poway, California, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I made a roux after adding the meats & then added the broth. I also only used 3 eggs...that was plenty. I also used a tsp of chicken base instead of the bouillion cube...adds a lot more flavor w/ much less sodium. ;o)This was gravy just like my MamMaw used to make... thansk Suzanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Great Gravy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Giblet Gravy I

This gravy is rich and delicious. It's great for holidays or any time!

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States