Giblet Gravy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
My mom always made this gravy. I never appreciated it until I was stuck with mixes, then I realized how good it really is. This recipe tastes just like hers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
it was just "salty" wasn't the old fashioned gravy I was thinking it would be. was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I used this recipe for Thanksgiving. It has a wonderful flavor but it was not quite thick enough. I will make again but use more thickening. Maybe use the butter/flour roux method for more body to the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjd1247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Great recipe, true old-fashioned giblet gravy!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrcmltn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Heber Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
it is not supposed to be like flour gravy super thick. i have made this same exact gravy since i was 14 and i still get asked gor the recipe. Mary48 trust me its great real Alabama flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pilot Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This gravy is FANTASTIC! I have made it the last two years for Thanksgiving, as well as Christmas dinner this past year. It has a wonderful flavor. Take it off the heat a little before it reaches the consistency you prefer. The gravy will thicken as it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Our son has me make this every year for him tom take to his work on thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Slapout, Alabama, USA
Living In: Holtville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Guys, this gravy is supposed to be thin, almost even nearly clear...this is classic giblet gravy not a roux gravy and it is usually for pouring over the turkey if it needs moisture and over good old fashioned cornbread stuffing. If you thicken it, that's to your liking but it changes the original recipe. Maybe it's an aquired taste but it is definitely supposed to be thin and chock full of chopped eggs. I grew up on this recipe and have loved being able to find it again since most gravies are thicker and start with a roux...thanks so much for helping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kymbrown1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Giblet Gravy II

See how to make a tasty giblet gravy.

Giblet Gravy I

This gravy is rich and delicious. It's great for holidays or any time!

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States