Giant Toffee Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Love this recipe! These are by far the best homemade chocolate chip cookies I have ever had. The changes I made were to use 1 3/4 cup white whole wheat pastry flour, 1 1/8 cup white sugar instead of brown and honey (what I had) and canola and coconut oils instead of shortening. I also put in half the chocolate chips (again, what I had) and it was just right. I wanted big cookies but not monster sized so I did 1/8 cup portions and baked for 11 minutes in my gas oven (runs hot) on the top rack. For those of you who are having "sticking" problems, GREASE THE COOKIE SHEET! Not just at the beginning, but between each batch. I know it says you don't have to but these are SOFT cookies and without something on the sheet they will be impossible to remove. The other thing that helps a lot is letting them cool as the recipe states. This will let the middles firm up and make them easier to lift from the sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jim Barry
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Followed the recipe as is, used a #24 scoop. Cookies remain very soft with an interesting toffee flavor. The first pan I took out of the oven at 14 min with indications of browned edges. But they fell flat :( , could have easily gone 2 more mins. They are the bottom layer in the photo I submitted. The second pan was 3/4 full and I left in for 15 mins. These turned out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
These cookies were almost sickeningly sweet, but that could be easily remedied with less chips and the addition of nuts. The real problem with this recipe was that I couldn't get the baked cookies off the sheet without massacring them. First I tried jumbo cookies, then I tried smaller ones, then I ditched the air cookie sheet, for a traditional cookie sheet sprayed with cooking spray. The cooking spray did help some, but not enough to cleanly remove the cookies and maintain the round shape. As for the toffee, I was wondering ... If anything, the honey made this less toffee-like. And this recipe definitely could have used more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Good cookie, but too much chocolate and not enough cookie. If I had added fewer semi sweet chocolate chips and a cup of nuts they would have been perfect. I will make them again with the modifications and see how that comes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Jung

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Texas, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I make these for our family vacation each year. There are never any leftovers. I love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AEWILLIA521

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
mmmmm-mmmmmmm! These were great! I put extra choc. chips in and added flaked coconut! Supurb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
These cookies were great. As I was making them though, the dough seemed much too wet and not quite thick enough to drop onto the sheet, so I ended up adding almost an extra cup of flour to the dough. They turned out really well that way. I also made them slightly smaller than the recipe called for. Great flavor and so soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I don't understand the toffee in the name, but it doesn't matter. These are heavenly! I had to use butter because my last stick of Crisco went to my neighbor yesterday. I made these into bars to save time, and I had to walk away before I ate the entire pan. I'll be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Ginther Brauns
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
these did not turn out for me. The edges were stuck to the cookie sheet and the centers were not cooked. They literally fell apart when trying to get them off the cookie sheet. I did use skor chips instead of white chocolate chunks but do not know why that would have ruined them. Will try again with the white chocolate and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
these cookies are great we had them on the 4th of july at are cookout and they flew off the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dragonchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wareham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States