Giant Stuffed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MindyMcC
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I made this recipe with smaller stuffing mushrooms for appetizers. After making it the first time, I added a bit of Parmesan cheese in the kasha stuffing and a little bit of swiss on the top. The result was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MindyMcC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palenville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Only for true health food nuts that like that buckwheat stuff. We did not care for this recipe. And was expensive to boot using portabello mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
I thought it tasted great and was a filling dinner. My only trouble was that it made a little too much mixture to stuff my mushrooms, I ended up eating just the mixture for lunch the next day. I did think it needed something extra, so I added a sprinkling of feta before baking. Also, I did not add cilantro, as I agree that 1 cup of onions makes more sense than 1 cup of cilantro in this recipe. But, overall, I was impressed, inspite of the negative reviews it was given.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
I think the concept of this recipe is great but the taste of kasha we didn't like. It has a weird taste and smell!!!(and there are not many healthy foods we don't like!) Next time I would use couscous or bulgar wheat which we love.Thanks for the basic recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
This recipe was very good. Like the other reviewers, I would recommend replacing the cilantro with a cup of onion. I would also suggest cooking the stuffing in this order: mushrooms caps first, then adding the celery, onion, and carrot, then the garlic last because it burns easily. This recipe also goes very well with an romaine lettuce/granny smith apple/gorgonzola crumble/raspberry vinaigrette side salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
My family loved it. I used pre-cooked rice instead as I am allergic to buckwheat. Also drizzled a bit of fontana cheese on top and broiled a minute til brown. TERRIFIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
I omitted the cilantro and celery, because I hate them. Apparently I also hate kasha. I recommend this recipe only to those who ablsolutley LOVE kasha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
This is really good, although I did not use kasha but used instant brown rice instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
Oh, yuck, I'm sorry. I don't want to seem mean, but I feel really strongly about this recipe. The smell of the cilantro was overwhelming, and mixed with the groat, it tasted like wet dog. I added a sauce of tomato and sprinkled feta cheese on top, but this was still not enough food for my guests. I'm glad I planned dessert. I won't be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2000
The stuffed mushroom was great. I think the 1 cup of cilantro listed in the ingredients should be 1 cup of onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

See how easy it is to make sensational stuffed mushrooms.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States