Giant Spice Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This recipe was awesome! I made smaller cookies and got two dozen out of this recipe. The cookies were quick to make and came out with a great texture - crunchy on the outside, soft and chewy on the inside. Everyone I shared them with loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Euphorixlost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Mine did not turn out well at all. The taste was okay, but it needed something else to keep it from being too blah-perhaps fresh ginger and honey or agave? Better off buying the Trader Joe's ginger snaps. Also, I don't know how some got it to flatten out like a cookie. Its as if it needed a little oil or something to get it to spread out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I try to keep a box of spice cake mix in the pantry to make these cookies in a pinch. They can be made quickly. I make a bunch of small cookies instead of 10 giant ones. They disappear quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by giapet
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I made these cookies on a whim because I had what I needed to make them (except I replaced the molasses with whipped honey because that's what I had). I was really impressed-- they turned out better than I expected! The first batch was on a standard cookie sheet with olive oil spray, and I wound up baking it for 10mins, then letting it sit on the sheet for another five or so. The second batch was done on a silicon sheet sitting on a regular cookie sheet, no oil, so I gave it a few extra minutes in the oven and I also let it sit on the sheet for about 10-15. Both batches turned out good! I also made the cookies smaller in general, so I came out with 22 cookies instead of 10. Love the recipe. It's light and tasty! My only concern is how quickly the cookies could dry out, which is a problem I've had with other recipes in the past...we'll see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I liked the recipe but modified it a bit. I added 2 eggs, instead of 1/2 tsp of ginger I did 1/4 tsp, I kept with 1/4 tsp of soda. Added NO water, instead of 1/3 cup of molasses I used 2 tbsp. Kept the vanilla the same. Cooled batter in frig for 20 minutes. Put a little more than 1/2 tsp on cookie sheet & baked for 10 minutes at 350 instead of 375. Family loved them. Said they tasted just like ginger snaps. Joanne G
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
So easy and So good! The flavor was wonderful and the texture was soft in the middle and a little harder along the edges. They melted in our mouths! We shared them with friends and they loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
This gets 5 stars from me because it's so easy, and they taste good too. I mixed them with my mixer so the dough was too sticky to roll. I could care less, I just dropped them on a cookie sheet by the teaspoonful like any other cookie and baked them on airbake sheets for 8 minutes. It couldn't get any easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pine River, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
These are okay - mine flattened down on their own and spread out, so I had a sheet of cookies that I had to cut apart. I tried putting 12 on a sheet. I made 17 cookies total, but they all ended up flat. They'd make good ice cream sandwiches though. They are chewy and taste good, but they don't look so great. Maybe my baking soda was too old? This is the same recipe as Giant Spice Cookies submitted by Sandra Pyeatt, though hers uses 1/4 C molasses instead of 1/3 C. Next time I would use 1/3 C, as I think the reason the cookies spread so much was because of all the liquid. I will try them again sometime, as it's so easy, and they're pretty decent. Not fabulous though. I sprinkled some granulated sugar on top of most of them before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Very simple, quick recipe. Here's what I did: used a "pudding in the mix" cake mix, chilled the dough for about an hour, rolled the dough in granulated sugar and didn't flatten them as the recipe said. They turned out very chewy/soft, and the granulated sugar gave them an ever-so-slight crispiness. They also have slightly strong molasses and spice taste, so be warned if that's not your thing. With the adjustments I made, it's a five star recipe at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Not sure why this had gotten poor ratings. I loved the cookies. I mixed them by hand so they stayed nice and chewy. Maybe they got crisp for the others because they mixed them with a mixer and incororated too much air into them.? I did not flatten them slightly like the recipe said but i followed the rest of it exactly. Very easy nice cookie!! Update: Chewier and better flavor the next day. Thanks for the recipe! Mom and I love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jho2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States