Giant Spice Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
tasty and easy, but this recipe needs some tweaking. from reading the earlier reviews I knew to be concerned about making them softer, so i added one egg to the recipe and that solved that. The cookies were soft and moist. The problem (for me) is they werent sweet enough. If you dont want a very sweet cookie, then stick with the original recipe. I will definately make them again as they show great promise. Next time I will add 1/4 cup of brown sugar to recipe and roll the balls in white sugar before baking. Also, i prefer the standard size or even smaller cookie, so i rolled my balls slightly bigger than quarters width and got 4 dozen. Cooked them for 8-9 minutes at 375 (seemed like an odd temperature, but original recipe called for it and it worked ok, but some did burn on the bottom. Next time I will experment with either the temperature or at least cooking them on double -stacked cookie sheets. Worth the effort of perfecting as they are charming and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariegg

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
The cookies tasted great! But They flattened out at became chewy almost instantly. Once I added an egg, it turned out fluffier and they didn't lose any delicious flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I DO NOT MIX THIS WITH YOUR HANDS!!!!! It was a VERY sticky batter. I think that it became very hard so as soon as it became warm I put them in a plastic airtight container and my hubby took them to the office and they actually loved them. The only reason I am rating it 2 stars is because it was extemely difficult to work with and became hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Nice and chewy and soft, and they're pretty too. Mine turned out great. I baked them for the minimal time suggested. Quite spicy/molassasy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
When these cookies first came out of the oven, they were perfect. The house smelled of spices, and they tasted fabulous. As they cooled on the wire racks, though, they started to get hard... and harder and harder. When they were completely cooled, they were like little bricks. We couldn't bite into them! They weren't burnt, just rock hard. With the simple list of ingredients, I know it wasn't something I skipped or missed. They're just... really, really hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Attractive, tasty, and chewy. I created a well in the dry ingredients in which to add the wet ingredients, and I folded it all together with a silicone scraper. Instead of hand-rolling, I used a Pampered Chef medium size scoop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
These were delicious without being too gingery. I'm not a big fan of gingerbread cookies and this was just enough to give me a bit of the taste of gingerbread, but the nice chewy softness of a regular cookie. I hand stirred it and I did NOT press them down, just left them in balls on the cookie sheet. They baked up marvelously and tasted divine! Soft, chewy and TASTY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
My cookies spread a lot because of all the liquid. I had a sheet of cookies that I had to cut apart. 12 per cookie sheet was too much. I made 17 cookies total, but they all ended up flat and not pretty looking like the photo pictured here. They'd make great ice cream sandwiches though. They are chewy and taste good, but they don't look so great. Maybe my baking soda was too old? I will try them again sometime, as it's so easy, and they're good. Not fabulous though. I sprinkled some granulated sugar on top of most of them before baking. Tasted better on day 2. *UPDATE* I made these again, this time rolling dough into balls and making much smaller cookies. I made 48 cookies, about 10-12 per sheet, baked about 10 min. They are GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Great quick cookie. I suggest mix this by hand to make sure the cookies stay nice plump and chewy. I also did not flatten slightly like the recipe said. I will make again! Update: Even chewier and better flavor the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jho2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States