Giant Ding Dong Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Luvlee
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Made this yesterday. It came out fabulous. Neighbors loved it! I scooped out top and bottom as I had a slight bump on the top. Just more room for the cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luvlee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Owen
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I made this for my son's second birthday. I used a 6 inch cake pan for his own little personal cake and still had enough batter to make a dozen cupcakes. I did what another reviewer suggested and just stuck an icing tip through the top of the cake and filled sections with icing as well as the cupcakes. Everyone loved them. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Owen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I've made this twice, as cupcakes! (think Hostess cupcakes), once with chocolate cake mix, and once with red velvet. Delicious! For the filling, when you let the milk and flour mixture cool, put a piece of plastic wrap on top to keep it from forming a skin. Once cool, simply remove and add to the sugar/butter/shortening mixture. For cupcakes, it only needs about 1/2 the amount, so maybe make 2/3 just in case! The chocolate topping is perfect for cupcakes too, simply dunk the tops of them in the warmed frosting. The chocolate frosting will set up and not be sticky. I then used more of the filling to add the little curlicue touches on top. Serve at room temperature!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
MAJOUR WOW FACTOR!!!I LOVE this cake!!!!! Its so easy to make and tastes FANTASTIC! I have made it for a few birthday partys and mothers day occasions and it always gets rave reviews! My only suggestion is to do what another user suggested and skim off the top layer of the milk mixture after its cooled. 10 out of 10!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I'm asked to make this every year for my boyfriend's birthday, as he is the ultimate Ring Ding addict. Tastes just like a Ring Ding/Ding Dong! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelaPetrino

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
THIS IS SOO GOOD! It is really chocolaty! Also, what i recommend is that you make the cake, let it sit overnight with the filling in the refrigerator, then in the morning, fluff up the filling and make the glaze, then serve right away. YUM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
It was ok - I expected something a little different I suppose. I put marange on top & that was a nice little edition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
absolutely delicious! defently will make again. everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda munsell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Manito, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Can anyone tell me if this cake can be frozen?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This is so delicious!! I made it exactly as written - we'll definately have this again!! We all loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States