Giant Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
EXCELLENT recipe! Made this for my FIL's bday, and everyone loved it. We used an 8x10 pan, so cooking time was a little different (I ended up doing an additional 15-ish min. A 9x11 prolly would have been the same cooking time as the round pizza pan). Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
I made 1-1/2 batches of this batter and it filled a rimmed cookie sheet perfectly. Baked 30 minutes at 325 degrees. Used less salt per other reviews. Everyone loved it and it came out great. Perfectly cooked and even for decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Castellucci Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
I made this for a work party, and it was a huge hit! I did some research before making it and made the following modifications: -Heat the oven to 350°F. -Use 2 cups flour. -Use 1/2 tsp. salt. -Line the bottom of the pizza pan with parchment paper. -Spoon the dough into the center of the pan, and use a silicone spatula to spread and round it out. -Leave 2" of space all around between the dough and the edge of the pizza pan. This will prevent the dough from spilling over as it expands in the oven. -Bake the cookie for 35-37 min., and turn the pan every 7 min. for an even bake all around. -I bought 16" cardboard cake rounds at Michael's to use as the base for the cake. When you take the pan out of the oven, cool the cookie in the pan for 20 min. Then, place a cardboard round on top of the pan and turn the whole thing upside down. Remove the parchment paper, take another cardboard round, place it on top of the cookie, and turn the whole thing upside down again. Now your cookie will be right side up on its base. -I bought Wilton icing tubes from Michael's to decorate the cookie. They were cheaper than the ones at the supermarket and better quality. -If you need to transport or store your cookie overnight, ask your local pizzeria for a pizza box. They will usually give it to you for $2 to $3. Once the cookie is in the box, generously wrap the entire box in plastic wrap. This will keep the cookie from hardening. -Use a pizza cutter to slice up the cookie. -Enjoy! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharon Elizabeth
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
I added m&m only on top for looks, and left out the walnuts. A edible transfer really topped the look of the cake off.. even tho I started running out of icing around the edges. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
This was fantastic--a huge hit for my husband's birthday! He had been talking about the big cookies he saw on a business trip, so I gave this a try. I used two 9" round pans and took the advice of heaping the dough on the edges a bit. We served it warm with ice cream on top, and it was perfectly soft from middle to edge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri Weaver Graf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lysa
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Came out great even though it was first attempt. I only used two cups of flour as suggested and cut back on the salt. I might use the whole tsp of salt next time though to counteract the sweetness. Also used a 12" pizza pan but my pan had holes in it and the cookie was a bit undercooked in the middle. I baked it for 17 minutes at 350. I might try a lower temp for longer next time. Although with any choc chip cookie, undercooked is always better than overcooked!! Also didn't use the whole batch of dough. I just spread it to about 1/2" thickness and left an inch of margin in the pan. Top tip: If you decorate with icing around the edges, no one will see the browned edges. I will definitely be making this again!! Editing to add: Made this for the 2nd time. I forgot I only used 2 cups of flour last time and this time used 2 1/4 per the recipe. BIG MISTAKE. Cookie is now cake-like, too much flour for sure. Doesn't have the chewy consistency of my first one. What a shame. Lesson learned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lysa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
This was a great recipe. My husband thought it was at first too sweet but then later said it was delicious. I love sweets and thought this was a perfect recipe. I did some experimenting with the batter in an 8" pan and small tiny bunt like pans since I didn't have the 14" pan. All types ended up delicious in their own way. I saw a review that the texture was off after cooking, I did notice in the tiny pans, where it cooked through quicker, the texture did look different, but it certainly didn't change the taste or turn me off from eating it. Those were my son's favorite kind. Another review mentioned leaving space or not filling up very high - I will agree with that after NOT following it and needing to readjust my pans and batter. The only issue I had with this is it makes so much and I love cookies so much that I've probably put on 5lbs over the holiday weekend ;) Bottom line, I will use this receipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I had the same problem with this recipe as others. It was wet and the taste was not as good as others I have tried. I used another recipe from the site and the cookie stayed together and I was actually able to make a true giant cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hahni Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
It was so easy to make! Love this recipe. I didn't have a pizza pan so I just placed the dough on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. I made sure to have an inch or so on all sides to allow for the dough to spread during baking. Came out great! Now, I just have to figure out how not to eat it before giving it to the birthday boy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I made this in 2 round cake pans and baked for 20 mins....lined the pans with circles of parchment. Followed the recipe exactly otherwise. They turned out well, and I sent one of them next door to the neighbors who help shovel my walk when it snows. Thanks for a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMLIZARD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 451) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States