Ghoraiybah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
These were delicious. I added 1 heaping teaspoon as suggested in other reviews, but I didn't find it was enough when tasting the uncooked batter, so I added more. I sorta dropped the bottle in!!! I got some out, but all in all, I probably had the approximate amout of 1 tablespoon and they were perfect. I do NOT think they need any extra sugar (as suggested), they are plenty sweet as is. I rolled out the dough and used a cookie cutter. They came out nice after 15 mins of baking, but they were probably thinner than in the original recipe (yield was of 24 and I got 37). I didn't add any almonds. I also don't think it is necessary to grease the cookie tray. They have tons of butter already. I lined mine with parchement paper and when I took it out of the oven, the paper was dreanched with oil. I will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Burgz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
It was weaker on the cardomom taste then what i wanted and i added 4 times the cardomom. It was also very crumbly but that could be due to my extra cardomom added in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Swank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Kirakira
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I loved these cookies. I used a little more cardamom and made them in a standard cookie shape with a whole almond pressed in the center. It has a wonderful exotic flavor, and it's just perfect for a snack with a cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirakira

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Per reviews, I doubled the cardamom, added 1 tsp vanilla & 1 Tbsp brown sugar. Taste like cardamom shortbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Knewasser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Love these! They're a big hit at our house come Christmas time. They have a very nice delicate flavor-- worth the effort of baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
These were a hit at my sister's wedding. Its a simple cookie to make, but very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mankato, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This isn't a recipe that will appeal to all taste buds because the cookies are more flavored than sweet, but we sure like them. As the other reviewers have mentioned, I do think the cookies benefit from a little vanilla extract, brown sugar and salt, but the cardamom is key. If you're using the packaged variety, you'll probably want to triple the amount, but using the actual cardamom pods makes a huge difference and really gives these cookies their flavor. I'm the first to admit you can't buy the pods everywhere (and if you do, they are on the pricey side), but if you have them, use them! (To extract cardamom: lightly brown pods in a pan over high heat - but don't overdo them! - remove cardamom seed from shells and crush using a mortar and pestle. For the leftover pods, I occasionally add them to my tea like the Lebanese do.) Also, this is one of few cookie recipes that turns out better using the old fashioned bowl & spatula method rather than the mixer. Finally, make sure your butter is softened (place in microwave for 25 seconds) to ensure a good dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
These were delicious. I doubled the cardamom and added a pinch of salt and everyone thought they were the best version of shortbread cookies they'd ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I actually thought these were really bland. I just heaped the cardamom instead of doubling it, and I added a pinch of salt, but so far I still don't think they were worth the time. The only ones that turned out well were the ones I added some sesame seeds to. Maybe I'll try to rescue the others with some icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
Very very good (and simple!) cookies. Since it said it only made two dozen, I doubled the recipe the first time I made it and, like others, added more cardamom, about a total of 2 tsp. I also added 1/4c brown sugar and about 1 tsp vanilla extract, and omitted the almond. Instead of shaping them into wreaths, I just rolled them into "fingers." They turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States