Ghirardelli® Ultimate Double Chocolate Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I made this cookie as directed and it is yummy, however I had a hard time making it into a round log. It was very runny before it went into the freezer, I think next time I will put the entire batter into the fridge for a few minutes before rolling it onto Saran Wrap. I stored them in an airtight container with a slice of bread and they were just as yummy if not better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
One word, Incredible! I love you so, Ghirardelli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waxahachie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
These were pretty good- not the best I've ever had though. Dough was pretty easy to make, I melted the chips using the microwave. Hardest part was rolling it into a log. If I were to make this again I would probably just roll them into balls. I reduced the sugar to a little more than 3/4 cup and left out the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
These are fabulous. A bit fussier than your average chocolate chip cookie but totally worth it. When they say the dough will be quite soft, that's a bit of an understatement, but it does firm up in the fridge. I made the dough on Saturday and baked a dozen then, and kept the rest of the dough in the fridge a few days and it was just as good baked later. I ended up with about 3 dozen large cookies full of amazing chocolate goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Delicious and very chocolatey. They were terrific even after freezing the log of dough for 3 weeks--just a tad bit drier than original. DO NOT overcook or they get dry and crumbly (still delicious, though!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
These are REALLY chocolatey! I left out the walnuts, but other than that I followed the recipe. When I mixed the chocolate chips into the dough, it thickened up quickly and I didn't think it was difficult at all to roll into logs. It was hard to cut into slices later because of the chocolate chips, but they didn't have to be nice-looking slices, so that wasn't much of an issue. I froze a few of my logs and made some cookies a week later, and they were just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
If you are looking for a very chocolatety cookie this is the one for you! I didn't end up rolling it into a log but I just stuck the dough into the frig for about 35 minutes before rolling into balls. Then I cooked for 12 minutes. I put the dough back in the frig each time to keep it cold. In addition to the choc chips I added heath bits. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This is one of our favorites. They are a cross between, fudge, brownies, & a super chocolaty cookie. My advice is to not let the dough set up for longer than about 40 minutes. If it becomes too hard, for some reason, it makes the cookies drier & kind of crumbly. We've tried them with pecans also, but the walnuts are a must. Hope you love them as much as we do. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Texas, USA
Living In: West, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Best cookies I have every made. Excellent. Only complaint was that they don't keep long, still tasted good after several days but I ended up with a huge bag full of cookie crumbs because they all fell apart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
WOW! These were delicious!!!! I used 1.5 4oz bars of 60% Ghirardelli Bittersweet chocolate bars, 1 small 85% Moser Roth Edel Bitter Kakao chocolate bar, 1/4-1/2 c of 60% Ghirardelli Bittersweet chocolate chips for the dough. I used 1.5 c of Ghirardelli semi-sweet chocolate chips to mix in. I also used 3/4 tsp baking powder. I left the dough in the fridge for 2 hrs before cutting up. The EASIEST part was rolling it into a log. I just poured half onto a sheet of plastic wrap and just rolled it up by connecting the ends together and twisting it up. That was the easiest part of all. I will make this recipe again!!!! It's not too sweet, nor too bitter. Just right plus very very chocolaty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luis R Apellaniz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States