Ghirardelli® Triple Chocolate Truffle Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Absolutely decadent! Followed the recipe exactly, except that I didn't have a 2" deep circular pan, so I just divided it into two 1" deep pans. I forgot to take this into consideration in the cooking time...still baked it for 40 minutes and was worried that it would be dry, but no! It was incredibly moist and chocolaty! A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
my husband loves intense desserts so i had to try this for father's day. i was intimidated by everyone saying the cake was foolproof, and there was a moment where i thought everything was falling apart. first i used a springform pan and i was really afraid that the water would seep in from the water bath, but i used foil in between to seal it and it turned out fine! also, i've never made a cake like this before so i had issues trying to figure out how much it was supposed to "pull away from the sides" and the part about being set in the middle, what exactly does that mean? surely not that a fork would come out clean because that would take even longer. i let it cook for an extra 10-15 minutes or so because the center was super gooey at 40 minutes. when i took it out, a knife certainly would not come out clean but i could touch the top without having goo on my fingers. i'm not sure if i overcooked it, but i do know that it came out amazing and my husband loves it. i felt it absolutely necessary to enjoy a piece with vanilla ice cream for balance. delirious giggles and chocolate coma ensued. he woke up first thing this morning and cut a whole 1/4 of the cake, and ate it warm with vanilla ice cream. it's super rich, divine even, and smooth... and a recipe i will keep and use forever. i guess i'll just have to ask around and find out if i was really supposed to take it out even sooner because if the cake gets better than this i will actually die.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
My favorite dessert in the world is the chocolate souffle cake at California Pizza Kitchen and I have not been able to find a recipe to duplicate it. This one comes as close as I have found and is delalalicious! I hate milk and white chocolate, so only used dark/semi-sweet chocolate for everything and served it with a scoop of high-quality vanilla ice-cream. My entire family LOVED it and agreed that it was very close to our beloved Chocolate Souffle Cake from CPK. Now if I can just find a recipe that duplicates the bed of light whipped vanilla cream it rests on :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Awesome! Serves more like 16 than 8! SO RICH & yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
So chocolatey and easy to make. Make sure to use milk chocolate chips or bars for the ganache or the whole thing would be a bit too bitter for kids (I used 72%, which I love).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This was one of the richest and most decadant cakes I've ever made. Fairly simple, turns out well, but uses just about every type of chocolate you might think of. Great for a rich chocolate lover, not so much for anyone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Danville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ItalianCookingMamma
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
All I can say is WOW. Extremely decadent, rich, sinful cake. But not so much cake as it is fudgy consistency. Still delicious...but oh so bad for you! I added fresh raspberries! Definately a special occasion treat. I made this cake and brought it to work as I want to make it for Valentine's Day for my boyfriend. (see my heart shape pic) One lady had 3 pieces... another coworker said it was "better than s-x". I am wondering if anyone has tried to lighten this up a bit (heart attack dripping in chocolate)? Maybe half the amount of eggs and use 4 egg whites + 4 whole eggs... and instead of butter use a vegetable butter spread. Maybe next time, I will try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Heavenly! I added sliced strawberries to the top, and I can't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Ginther Brauns
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
wow!! this cake is INCREDIBLE!! it is so amazing - no words can really describe the deliciousness that is this cake!! the only thing i did differently was grate a few white chocolate chips, as i didn't have a bar on hand...after consuming two pieces, i went back and had a peek at the calorie content and silently screamed inside (hehe)..but this is definitely one cake i am willing to consume extra :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This is quite good, but not as chocolatey as I'd have thought after reading the reviews. The first day, when it's a bit warm, it's at its best, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States