Ghirardelli® Triple Chocolate Truffle Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Wow, was this wonderful! I didn't use Ghirardelli chocolate but used Hershey's dark chocolate chips and Nestle milk chocolate chips. I made it for Christmas and the family just raved over it. It was easy to make and so rich and creamy. I sprinkled powdered sugar over the top instead of the white chocolate shavings since I don't have a good grater to use. This will definitely be one of my favorite desserts to make from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This was my first time baking with a water bath method and it was very easy! My cake turned out wonderfully, but I barely used 1/4 ounce of white chocolate for the shavings. It also traveled surprisingly well--I had a 3 hr drive to Thanksgiving. Very, very rich! Start with a small slice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Wonderful & very rich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Absolutely fantastic! I made it exactly as written. Super rich and chocolately - I had to take some to the neighbors so I wouldn't eat it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Anyone else have a problem with spots of "something" inside the cake after it's baked? Mine tasted great and baked up nicely but it had small globs of something all through it. They didn't taste bad and if you squished them between your fingers they spread around easily but I have no idea what they would have been. Eggs maybe? Just can't see how the eggs wouldn't have gotten mixed in well. Anyway, the cake is great and the ganache is easy and amazing as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Absolutely delicious , I wasn't able to use ghirardelli bec I ran out of it. It was very rich and fudgy I didn't know u can make a cake without using flour. Next time I will make it again I will use a milk chocolate instead of semi sweet, bec it's a little bitter to taste . The only problem I encountered was when unmolding it from the pan. The water bath process makes the grease paper adhered too much from the cake I found it hard to release it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Absolutely decadent! Followed the recipe exactly, except that I didn't have a 2" deep circular pan, so I just divided it into two 1" deep pans. I forgot to take this into consideration in the cooking time...still baked it for 40 minutes and was worried that it would be dry, but no! It was incredibly moist and chocolaty! A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
my husband loves intense desserts so i had to try this for father's day. i was intimidated by everyone saying the cake was foolproof, and there was a moment where i thought everything was falling apart. first i used a springform pan and i was really afraid that the water would seep in from the water bath, but i used foil in between to seal it and it turned out fine! also, i've never made a cake like this before so i had issues trying to figure out how much it was supposed to "pull away from the sides" and the part about being set in the middle, what exactly does that mean? surely not that a fork would come out clean because that would take even longer. i let it cook for an extra 10-15 minutes or so because the center was super gooey at 40 minutes. when i took it out, a knife certainly would not come out clean but i could touch the top without having goo on my fingers. i'm not sure if i overcooked it, but i do know that it came out amazing and my husband loves it. i felt it absolutely necessary to enjoy a piece with vanilla ice cream for balance. delirious giggles and chocolate coma ensued. he woke up first thing this morning and cut a whole 1/4 of the cake, and ate it warm with vanilla ice cream. it's super rich, divine even, and smooth... and a recipe i will keep and use forever. i guess i'll just have to ask around and find out if i was really supposed to take it out even sooner because if the cake gets better than this i will actually die.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
My favorite dessert in the world is the chocolate souffle cake at California Pizza Kitchen and I have not been able to find a recipe to duplicate it. This one comes as close as I have found and is delalalicious! I hate milk and white chocolate, so only used dark/semi-sweet chocolate for everything and served it with a scoop of high-quality vanilla ice-cream. My entire family LOVED it and agreed that it was very close to our beloved Chocolate Souffle Cake from CPK. Now if I can just find a recipe that duplicates the bed of light whipped vanilla cream it rests on :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Awesome! Serves more like 16 than 8! SO RICH & yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States