Ghirardelli Rocky Road Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
The brownie cupcake part was so yummy. I am not a big fan of marshmallows so I may leave them off next time. Also, we don't do nuts here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tawna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I made these for a potluck at work because I thought they looked SO good! The flavor was great, as well as the texture of the cake but the marshmallows melted and ran off the top of the cakes and burned onto the pan, the chocolate chips and nuts that were on the top melted into the cake so in the end, they looked NOTHING like the picture. I made a second batch, waiting to top them with the nuts, chocolate chips and marshmallows until the last 5 minutes of baking time but the marshmallows did the same thing, they swelled up, melted and started sliding off the cupcake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
These were a huge hit! I was told the best cupcake ever eaten - and I bake for the office all the time. One note: There is a lot of time for prep for this recipe and it took longer than 20 mins to fully bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CrondaT
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Mine looked just like the picture, tasted great and were moist. My co-workers loved them. I especially enjoyed that no frosting is needed to make a pretty cupcake. I did not have an issue with the marshmallows. I only placed 3-4 mini marshmallows on each. I just kept a close eye on the cupcakes and as soon as I saw them brown a little or swell up. I removed them from the oven. Check out the picture I uploaded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrondaT
Home Town: Ringgold, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
My family really liked the toppings and the chocolatey taste was definitely there but they turned out very dry, and had a texture more like a muffin. They went down easier the next morning with some butter spread on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunlitme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Extremely delicious and easy to make; I can't wait to share these with my classmates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakerBritt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton Grove, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
great idea... for some reason mine didn't turn out and ended up tossing them. The few I made in my mini cupcake (George Forman type unit) turned out good. Just stuffed a mini marshmallow in the middle and topped of with nuts, closed the lid and tasted good. Would definitely make a mini version again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I also sprayed the liners with cooking spray. I made the mistake of not melting the chocolate over boiling water and just microwaved it. Oops! DON'T DO THIS. I was also scared of burning the marshmallows as read in previous reviews, so I just mixed in the nuts and marshmallows. Due to not cooking the chocolate properly, they came out crisp on top, gooey underneath, best eaten with a spoon. Tasted great but did not look like cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAsweetie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
These were rich with lots of chocolate flavor. It took almost 30 minutes to bake them. I did position the oven rack on the bottom one-third of the oven as directed and had no problems with the topping melting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by advancedcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
beautiful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Individual Chocolate-Amaretto Lava Cakes

See how to make individual chocolate cakes with an amaretto center.

Tiramisu Cups

See how to make amazing mini tiramisu treats.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States