Ghirardelli® Individual Chocolate Lava Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Made this as New Year's Eve desert. I liked that I could put it together early then pop it in the oven when we were ready for it. Steps were easy to follow and presentation was beautiful. The only issue I ran into was the lava wasn't very lava-like. It didn't flow as I expected. But I think this was my fault as I baked them a little longer than called for. Despite the thick lava, the taste was amazing, everyone asked for more... too bad they were single servings :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raynham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Down2Eat
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Wow. They look and taste really amazing and they aren't too difficult to make! I followed the recipe pretty much exactly except I used semi-sweet ghirardelli chocolate chips. I probably should have waited about 10 min to eat them so the "lava" wasn't so runny but I couldn't wait!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorktown, Virginia, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Very quick and easy. I microwaved everything. I did all the mixing/melting two days ahead, and poured the batter into a large-muffin pan (meant for six) since I don't have ramekins, and the center mixture into a small tupperware container. Then I stuck it in the fridge. The night I was serving them, I rolled the truffles while the oven was preheating. I didn't use raspberries, the cool whip was enough. Just a warning: Very dark chocolate. I might try a different chocolate for the lava next time. Overall: everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was our Christmas dinner dessert. I made this 3 days before we cooked it and just stored it in the fridge. Put some cool whip and thawed raspberries on the side of it. Easier than I thought it would be, it was my first effort at using a double boiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I made these lava cakes for a dinner party and they were a hit! They were not too sweet and very moist. If you don't have ramekins, this recipe makes about 8 cupcakes. I added a raspberry sauce and balsamic glaze to these cakes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I have made other lava cakes before but these were far superior. A little more work initially but worth it in the end!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Con C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Norway, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I found this recipe in an ad in one of my magazines. I've made it many times, and my guests always ask for the recipe. It's wonderful and comes out great every time. I like spreading a little raspberry sauce around the bottom of the plate to make a nice presentation and add a little something extra to the taste. I've even made the batter ahead of time, put it in the individual dishes, and then refrigerated it for several days. Pop it in the oven and they still come out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I love this recipe. I didn't have a double-broiler, so I melted semi-sweet chocolate chips 30 seconds at a time and stirred. I put the two in the fridge overnight so I could pop them in really fast during the meal. I couldn't get the center to curl up in balls, so I put some at the bottom of the ramekins and then put the rest on top. They turned out pretty well. I served them in the ramekins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I thought this would be tricky. It's not. Really easy & my discriminating husband said very good! I will make it again & again! A real pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Individual Chocolate-Amaretto Lava Cakes

See how to make individual chocolate cakes with an amaretto center.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States