Ghirardelli® Individual Chocolate Lava Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Two tips for you: 1) An 11.5 oz. bag of Ghirardelli 60% cacao bittersweet chocolate chips is about $3.99. A 4 oz. Ghirardelli 60% cacao bittersweet chocolate baking bar is about $3.59. Therefore, if you buy the chips instead of the bar, you have almost enough chocolate to make this dessert on two different occasions (vs. having to buy two bars at about $3.59 each to make it once). If you use the chips, you'll be short 1/4 oz. of chocolate each time you make it, which is not a big deal, and the chips melt faster, too! 2) This recipe is delicious, but I gave it four stars because it's a lot of extra, unnecessary work to have to make the center mixture separately from the cake. There are many other recipes out there that are just as good that do NOT require you to do this. Other recipes simply have you melt the chocolate and butter in a double broiler, add the sugar, pour that mixture into the egg mixture, add the flour, put in ramekins and bake. And, if you bake it the proper number of minutes, you'll have a perfectly molten center just like this recipe, without having to refrigerate anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
292 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I found this recipe in an ad in one of my magazines. I've made it many times, and my guests always ask for the recipe. It's wonderful and comes out great every time. I like spreading a little raspberry sauce around the bottom of the plate to make a nice presentation and add a little something extra to the taste. I've even made the batter ahead of time, put it in the individual dishes, and then refrigerated it for several days. Pop it in the oven and they still come out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
now I must admit, I really improvised; I did not want to leave my house just to buy ingredients.... so, the texture was great, the taste, ok. BUT definitely was b/c of my substitutions: had no Ghirardelli choc, so used 45% cacao semi-sweet choc chips (365 brand) and had no heavy whipping cream, so used dry milk and made it very thick when adding the water (this mixture would not harden in the fridge, so stuck in the freezer for a few minutes, and turned out just ok). I subbed spelt flour with 1 T. of potato starch for the cake flour. The chocolate was way too sweet, so def. make sure you use the chocolate it calls for. Also, I baked it in regular cupcake tins (with liners) and baked for about 11 minutes (I had enough batter for 10 cupcakes). The consistancy of the "lava" did improve the longer I waited to eat it (about 10-15 minutes after it is removed from oven is perfect). And oh, if you are watching it bake, and the liquid in the middle starts to ooze out a little at the top, take out immediately, it was in there too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This is the first time I've made/eaten a lava cake and oh my gosh! This is so good! I did make one major change to this recipe though, I used all semi-sweet chocolate because I have a big sweet tooth and bittersweet just wouldn't have done it for me. This came out so perfect. For the center, I lined a mini muffin tin and put the ganache in the individual cups. I simply needed to remove the liners from the hardened middle and put it in batter. Saved the mess of rolling into balls (and probably made a bigger chocolate center - but I'm not complaining!) I simply garnished this with a sprinkle of powdered sugar and raspberry preserves, it was perfect. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Great recipe. I made some modifications that worked great. First, I used a nice bittersweet chocolate not 60% to tone it down a little. I let the filling harden overnight which was much easier to deal with the next day. Next, I doubled the recipe for cake (filling too) and made them in muffin tins. I made 18 mini cakes filling them about 2/3rds full and baking them for about 12 minutes. I let them cool and flipped them out of the pan. The center tends to cave just a bit. I made fresh cinnamon whip cream and raspberries to fill in the dent. It was a hit! No left overs or sad faces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEACEMEL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Very quick and easy. I microwaved everything. I did all the mixing/melting two days ahead, and poured the batter into a large-muffin pan (meant for six) since I don't have ramekins, and the center mixture into a small tupperware container. Then I stuck it in the fridge. The night I was serving them, I rolled the truffles while the oven was preheating. I didn't use raspberries, the cool whip was enough. Just a warning: Very dark chocolate. I might try a different chocolate for the lava next time. Overall: everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I also found this recipe in Good Housekeeping a few years ago. They are so easy and come out right every time. The other recipes that do not have the center can be very tricky to get done just right--basically they are an undercooked cake--this one is not. When I make chocolate ganache for cake or cupcakes, I make a little extra, then scoop it into balls and store them in the freezer. That way they are always ready when I want to make these lava cakes! It's really too messy to roll them in your warm hands, so I use a spoon (a melon baller would work too). Sometimes I mix in a little frambois to flavor the center. A raspberry coulie squirted or dabbled on the plate with the fresh raspberries and a sprig of mint (served on a white plate of course) makes a gorgeous presentation. I do not use the whipped cream because it leaves a heavy taste in the mouth. These cakes are very, very easily reheated in the microwave (in the cups) for just a few seconds. They come out like freshly baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Yum! This was perfect for Valentines Day! I used Green and Black's 72% cacao baking bar. I baked them in silicone muffin cups (made 10 this way). They reheated well in the toaster oven the next day too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I love this recipe. I didn't have a double-broiler, so I melted semi-sweet chocolate chips 30 seconds at a time and stirred. I put the two in the fridge overnight so I could pop them in really fast during the meal. I couldn't get the center to curl up in balls, so I put some at the bottom of the ramekins and then put the rest on top. They turned out pretty well. I served them in the ramekins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Down2Eat
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Wow. They look and taste really amazing and they aren't too difficult to make! I followed the recipe pretty much exactly except I used semi-sweet ghirardelli chocolate chips. I probably should have waited about 10 min to eat them so the "lava" wasn't so runny but I couldn't wait!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorktown, Virginia, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Individual Chocolate-Amaretto Lava Cakes

See how to make individual chocolate cakes with an amaretto center.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States