Ghirardelli® Individual Chocolate Lava Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Down2Eat
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Wow. They look and taste really amazing and they aren't too difficult to make! I followed the recipe pretty much exactly except I used semi-sweet ghirardelli chocolate chips. I probably should have waited about 10 min to eat them so the "lava" wasn't so runny but I couldn't wait!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorktown, Virginia, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
now I must admit, I really improvised; I did not want to leave my house just to buy ingredients.... so, the texture was great, the taste, ok. BUT definitely was b/c of my substitutions: had no Ghirardelli choc, so used 45% cacao semi-sweet choc chips (365 brand) and had no heavy whipping cream, so used dry milk and made it very thick when adding the water (this mixture would not harden in the fridge, so stuck in the freezer for a few minutes, and turned out just ok). I subbed spelt flour with 1 T. of potato starch for the cake flour. The chocolate was way too sweet, so def. make sure you use the chocolate it calls for. Also, I baked it in regular cupcake tins (with liners) and baked for about 11 minutes (I had enough batter for 10 cupcakes). The consistancy of the "lava" did improve the longer I waited to eat it (about 10-15 minutes after it is removed from oven is perfect). And oh, if you are watching it bake, and the liquid in the middle starts to ooze out a little at the top, take out immediately, it was in there too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I have made other lava cakes before but these were far superior. A little more work initially but worth it in the end!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Con C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Norway, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I found this recipe in an ad in one of my magazines. I've made it many times, and my guests always ask for the recipe. It's wonderful and comes out great every time. I like spreading a little raspberry sauce around the bottom of the plate to make a nice presentation and add a little something extra to the taste. I've even made the batter ahead of time, put it in the individual dishes, and then refrigerated it for several days. Pop it in the oven and they still come out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I made these lava cakes for a dinner party and they were a hit! They were not too sweet and very moist. If you don't have ramekins, this recipe makes about 8 cupcakes. I added a raspberry sauce and balsamic glaze to these cakes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Made this as New Year's Eve desert. I liked that I could put it together early then pop it in the oven when we were ready for it. Steps were easy to follow and presentation was beautiful. The only issue I ran into was the lava wasn't very lava-like. It didn't flow as I expected. But I think this was my fault as I baked them a little longer than called for. Despite the thick lava, the taste was amazing, everyone asked for more... too bad they were single servings :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raynham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was our Christmas dinner dessert. I made this 3 days before we cooked it and just stored it in the fridge. Put some cool whip and thawed raspberries on the side of it. Easier than I thought it would be, it was my first effort at using a double boiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Two tips for you: 1) An 11.5 oz. bag of Ghirardelli 60% cacao bittersweet chocolate chips is about $3.99. A 4 oz. Ghirardelli 60% cacao bittersweet chocolate baking bar is about $3.59. Therefore, if you buy the chips instead of the bar, you have almost enough chocolate to make this dessert on two different occasions (vs. having to buy two bars at about $3.59 each to make it once). If you use the chips, you'll be short 1/4 oz. of chocolate each time you make it, which is not a big deal, and the chips melt faster, too! 2) This recipe is delicious, but I gave it four stars because it's a lot of extra, unnecessary work to have to make the center mixture separately from the cake. There are many other recipes out there that are just as good that do NOT require you to do this. Other recipes simply have you melt the chocolate and butter in a double broiler, add the sugar, pour that mixture into the egg mixture, add the flour, put in ramekins and bake. And, if you bake it the proper number of minutes, you'll have a perfectly molten center just like this recipe, without having to refrigerate anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
304 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Very quick and easy. I microwaved everything. I did all the mixing/melting two days ahead, and poured the batter into a large-muffin pan (meant for six) since I don't have ramekins, and the center mixture into a small tupperware container. Then I stuck it in the fridge. The night I was serving them, I rolled the truffles while the oven was preheating. I didn't use raspberries, the cool whip was enough. Just a warning: Very dark chocolate. I might try a different chocolate for the lava next time. Overall: everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vadener
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
These were pretty good. But, I dunno, seemed a little time consuming and expensive for the small yield.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Individual Chocolate-Amaretto Lava Cakes

See how to make individual chocolate cakes with an amaretto center.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States