Ghirardelli® Individual Chocolate Lava Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This was wonderful! Just what I was hoping for...lots of rich flavor and pretty easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susannagrace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I gave this 4 stars for taste but 3 stars for the overall making of this recipe. I followed the recipe as is and I put the chocolate mixture in the refrigerator for 4 hours and it never firmed up. I did stick it in the freezer and when I took it out to start forming the balls it very quickly turned mushy and when I put it back in the freezer to have it harden up it never did so I was quite disappointed in that. I also was only able to fill 5 ramekins and they weren't even filled very much either. So I was a little disappointed since I didn't have the balls to put in the middle of the batter so when they were done baking when you put your fork into it there was no "lava". But I do have to say it was so good and chocolatey and I did enjoy the taste of this. I might attempt it one more time to see if it works out again but I am undecided at this point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momofthreekids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Hobe Sound, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I give four out of five stars because while the cake itself turned out beautifully the inside was just a little too bitter for my taste. I've tried to do it a couple of other different ways, but I just can't make the gooey inside to my liking enough to continue attempting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
These were so hugely successful at two recent dinner parties I hosted. I baked and served them in individual ramekins with chocolate covered strawberries and cream. This will be made often in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Oh, this was heavenly. Especially with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on it(didn't have raspberries). However, a word of caution: I changed the servings to 8 and it only made 5. Hmm, maybe my ramekins where larger than what was used here?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Simple to make and very delicious. I didn't have Ghirardelli bittersweet chips or bars on hand, so I used Baker's Semi-sweet squares, but I added 1/4-1/2 tsp dutch cocoa powder to the center mixture and the cake mixture, which worked out just fine. It was still so deep and rich and chocolatey that it was quite necessary to serve with whipped cream. I loved how simple the recipe was, too, and you can store the separate parts in your fridge for a couple days for when you desperately need something terrifyingly chocolatey and are ready to dirty a ramekin...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieB123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I love this recipe. I didn't have a double-broiler, so I melted semi-sweet chocolate chips 30 seconds at a time and stirred. I put the two in the fridge overnight so I could pop them in really fast during the meal. I couldn't get the center to curl up in balls, so I put some at the bottom of the ramekins and then put the rest on top. They turned out pretty well. I served them in the ramekins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I thought this would be tricky. It's not. Really easy & my discriminating husband said very good! I will make it again & again! A real pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Delicious but not my favorite version of this dessert. Served with some creme anglais and fresh whipped cream. Used semi-sweet chocolate for the lava center. Cake is quite dense due to the chocolate-to-flour ratio. I prefer this dessert with a lighter cake surrounding the molten center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Individual Chocolate-Amaretto Lava Cakes

See how to make individual chocolate cakes with an amaretto center.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States