Ghirardelli® Individual Chocolate Lava Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
My daughter requested "anything chocolate" for her birthday dinner. I made these cakes and they were a big hit! They are "everything chocolate"!! Followed the recipe except I didn't have the 60% chocolate, used 54%. Doubled the recipe and used large muffin tins. Made ahead of time and refrigerated until ready to bake. Easy and delicious! What more?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
These are very good. Easy to make, moist and the center is so tasty. Perfect amount of chocolate. I did not change a thing they are perfect just as they are. I served with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovejam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cassadaga, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Taste as good as they look!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I used large Symphony bars (4.25). The extra .25 only made it more chocolately. My daughter's in chocolate bliss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
So easy to make and a total hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Yummy! I made this for a Christmas Eve dessert and it turned out wonderfully. It's very rich, though-have a tall glass of milk with this one! I used bittersweet Ghirardelli chocoalte chips instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Decadent ... Delicious ... Easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This was my very first attempt at making lava cake, and it came out terrific! It's super easy, and even more delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I also found this recipe in Good Housekeeping a few years ago. They are so easy and come out right every time. The other recipes that do not have the center can be very tricky to get done just right--basically they are an undercooked cake--this one is not. When I make chocolate ganache for cake or cupcakes, I make a little extra, then scoop it into balls and store them in the freezer. That way they are always ready when I want to make these lava cakes! It's really too messy to roll them in your warm hands, so I use a spoon (a melon baller would work too). Sometimes I mix in a little frambois to flavor the center. A raspberry coulie squirted or dabbled on the plate with the fresh raspberries and a sprig of mint (served on a white plate of course) makes a gorgeous presentation. I do not use the whipped cream because it leaves a heavy taste in the mouth. These cakes are very, very easily reheated in the microwave (in the cups) for just a few seconds. They come out like freshly baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I didn't have ramikens and made these in regular cupcake paper with a cupcake tin pan. My grandsons loved them. The "lava" didn't flow out, but was gooey and soft. After they cooled, I would put them in the microwave for 9 seconds and my grandsons gobbled them up. Will make again and forego purchasing ramikens. The lava is a little difficult to work with as it melts in the hands so you have to work quickly, but these are well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Individual Chocolate-Amaretto Lava Cakes

See how to make individual chocolate cakes with an amaretto center.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States