Ghirardelli® Individual Chocolate Lava Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
The recipe turned out without any problems and was fairly easy to make, but we thought it tasted terrible. The cake part was extremely dry and the filling was lacking ooziness even when eaten immediately. I did like someones idea of adding a little chambourd to the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladylass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
It was my first time making this cake. So easy. I made it with all Purpose Flour instead of Cake Flour and turned out just fine and really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phillos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Delicious! But only good straight out of the oven, obviously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Prepare the ramekins and make the chocolate balls ahead. If you do you can pop this out at the last moment. Your guests will be VERY impressed. I put some Creme Anglaise under it and garnished with berries. The only part that isn't perfectly clear is step 5. Use a stand mixer and turn the mixture on high. Just let it run for 4-5 minutes. The mixture will take on the constancy of a thickened cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Campbell, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rwarnberg
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Amazing and so special for Christmas dessert! A bar of chocolate is 4 oz which I didn't realize until I began cooking. I used 2 oz of tollhouse chocolate pieces for the center. Didn't get stuff so divided into 6 scoops and froze until placed in cake mix. They were wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Absolutely delicious. But I need help. I don't have ramekins so I used non stick muffin pans instead. My problem is that the bottom always stick to the muffin pan and when I invert it out, there is a hole in the center. Even though I have tried to butter the pan first as well as butter the pan and then sprinkle with sugar or cocao powder, it always have the bottom center stuck to the pan leaving the cake with a hole in the center and some of the lava flows out. It still taste incredible, just does not look perfect. Any help from anyone would be appreciated. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
It's soooooo good!!!!!!!!! just eat it when it's hot or the centers won't melt. it's a bit complicated. -walrus:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Walrus

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This is a good recipe, but what makes the center even better is a little less butter and a Tbsp or so of Chambord.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathi Browne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madisonville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
This recipe is easy to make, but I think the cake part tastes somewhat boring and doesn't match up against the filling. If I make it again, I plan to use a full teaspoon of vanilla and maybe more chocolate for the cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Individual Chocolate-Amaretto Lava Cakes

See how to make individual chocolate cakes with an amaretto center.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States