Ghirardelli® Dark Chocolate Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
These are delicious and ridiculously easy to make. I rolled mine in three different toppings for variety since I was bringing to a party: shredded coconut, cocoa and a cocoa/cinnamon mixture. I tried to leave some plain, but they seemed to melt too much in my hands when I was making them, so rolled all of them in a coating. Everyone raved about them and it was the one thing that was gone before the end of the night. Next time, I'd double the recipe to bring to a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
WOWZERS! These are phenomenal! I happen to LOVE Godiva chocolate (I believe it to be the smoothest, creamiest chocolate out there) and I found bars of it at our area grocery store. I made this recipe using 72% cocoa bar (all but 2 squares) and the whole milk chocolate bar (each bar weighed 3.5 ounces). I did cut the recipe in half as 2 cups chocolate chips is equal to 12 ounces chocolate. Half recipe provided 24 two - 3 bite truffles. The filling was amazing! I also used Ghiradelli dipping and candy making chocolate for coating the centers. My two most favorite chocolates in one candy, now that's pure bliss! Using disposable food prep gloves for rolling the filling worked beautifully. Re-chill after rolling before dipping in chocolate. I am anxious to try adding some extracts to the filling. Perfect recipe, but the brand chocolate is what makes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Very messy to make, but oh so worth it! Have fun creating different toppings, and they are better served slightly cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Good flavor, but that's because it's ghirardelli chocolate. I could have just eaten the chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I modified it some by changing it to 2/3 cup of cream and only 2 1/2 tablespoons of butter. I learned that the amount of cream affects how thick the ganache is. I also let it chill overnight. I tried pouring the ganache onto a sheet of parchment paper, then when cool cut into desired sections and roll into a ball (read that somewhere) but I fould it was harder to roll. Someone else may have better luck. You can divide into bowls and add flavored oils to the ganache.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Hummina hummina... I think i gained 3 lbs on these. Sadly, i'm not exaggerating. (Also very good with other kinds of chocolate.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Way too rich. Messy to make. Felt like I was eating butter flavored with chocolate. The batch made a considerable amount as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
We made over 600 of these for my wedding favors and cake decorations. It's such an easy recipe and easily triples. We would almost exactly 30 truffles out of each bath too. If you're going to dip them in chocolate, I suggest making them smaller because the coating will add a significant bulk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
If you don't like dark chocolate then this recipe is not for you. It's an easy recipe. I did doubled the recipe and suffice it to say I have them coming out the armpits. As other reviewers have stated, I used a small cookie scoop (about 1 tsp.) and left the bottoms flat. Unfortunately, they were in the fridge over night and the next day they were hard as rocks so I left them sitting for about an hour and started scooping from the outside of the mixture. We rolled them in toasted coconut, roasted hazelnuts, pecans and unsweetened cocoa. The flat bottoms sit nicely in the mini baking cups and don't roll all over. Delicious and very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capemaybe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape May, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Bitter and hard to scoop and shape. I am not truly a Dark Chocolate lover, but my hubby is, and he was not impressed, BUT the MILK Chocolate version of this type of confection found at Ghirardelli's website is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suprmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States