Ghirardelli® Dark Chocolate Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Heaven!!!! These were wonderful and got rave reviews from others, as well! I did find them pretty difficult to form, as they were very hard to scoop, and I actually broke a (very old) melon baller. I think next time I will try a nice cookie scoop and/or adding a little more cream to make them a little softer. I coated in each of the following toppings: cocoa powder, cocoa powder with cinnamon, powdered sugar, finely chopped toasted hazelnuts, and finely chopped toasted coconut. I think in the future I may leave out the plain cocoa powder (although I didn't mind the bitterness as some others did), and I may also try cocoa powder with some sort of chili pepper for those who like a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dahlonega, Georgia, USA
Living In: Notasulga, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Super rich and really yummy! I made changes and they still came out wonderfully. Instead of heavy cream, I used coconut milk (so even your lactose intolerant friends can enjoy! And you can tell yourself it's just a LITTLE bit healthier!) And the coconut flavor is not detectable, it is overpowered by the chocolate flavor. My hubby doesn't like coconut flavor and he couldn't tell I used it, so don't worry about that being an issue. I also only used 3 Tbsp of butter and 1 cup dark chocolate chips. Still came out super rich so I'm sure those numbers can be reduced even more. For the topping, I put some peanuts and almonds (separately) in the food processor and ground them up fine with a few pulses then rolled half the balls in one dust and half in the other - chocolate and nuts, am I right?? SO GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Oh my these are good! As a beginner in the kitchen I'm very pleased with how these came out. I didn't find an easy way to shape them into balls, so mine are lopsided...but the flavor is delicious and that's what really counts! I did roll most of mine in a milk/bittersweet chocolate mixture to get a shell. The coated ones are easier to eat! Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I made 6 batches of these for the holidays. They are fool proof. Rolled them in Bits O Brickle that I ran through the food processor for a few pulses. Did the same with Honey Roasted Cashews. I will NEVER pay 2.00 for one truffle again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue_Banana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
good! very messy to roll but still looked good after I rolled them in the cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAC2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
these were amazing.everyone loved them.i tried them with unsweetened cocoa which made them more mouthwatering.thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
These truffles are very rich. They are delicious but almost too intense! Next time I will make a vanilla or coconut filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
So easy, so delicious. I divided my batch in half and added a tablespoon of Amaretto to one (could use any sort of liquor for flavor) and added a few semi-sweet chocolate chips to balance out the bitter chocolate and the extra liquid of the liquor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSEIRAFI
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I made these this morning for a Valentine's treat for my boys tonight. I made no changes or substitutions Very very simple. I had one today and it's wonderful. NOTE: I've made this recipe before so whenever I make truffles, I make uniform sized balls using my small cookie scoop, roll them into a ball and if I don't roll them in coconut flakes or chopped nuts, I line them in a small foil-lined pan with sides (this is so they don't roll off). I then stick them in the freezer until they're firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I absolutely love dark chocolate, so I knew I would love these truffles. They have an amazing smooth texture that just melts in your mouth. My chocolate was pretty hard when it came out of the fridge, so I let it warm up a bit on the counter before forming into balls. The warmth of your hands help to shape the balls as well. I rolled mine in cocoa, coconut and Valentine's sprinkles. The coconut is my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States