Ghirardelli® Chocolate Saltine Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I make this but I do it alittle easier.. I melt the butter in the microwave and when fully melted I add that to my sugar (don't even use corn syurp), stir till well mixed than I pour that mixture over the crackers... I take a spoon and spread to make sure every cracker gets covered than I put that in the oven at 350 degrees for 6 to 7 mins or until it bubbles and gets alittle brown. When that's done I take it out and let it cool. Than I melt the choc chips in the microwave for one min, take out and stir... keep microwaving and mixing in 30 second intervals till all the choc chips are melted. Than I spread that over the cooling crackers. Again.. use a spoon to make sure every cracker is fully covered. Than you can top w/ anything but we like to top ours w/ crushed Health bar pieces. And freeze till it sets. OMG... This is one of the first things gone no matter where I take it and everyone is amazed that it's made w/ crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GingerB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Oh my goodness! I made this in my parents kitchen just messing around, but it was gone FAST. AND they were breaking off pieces before it was even cooled and coming back for more. Very easy, this one is going in my recipe file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
These are sooo good! The toffee prep was a snap and this came together quick and easy. The Ghirardelli Chips put it over the top (I used closer to 8 oz.) These will be added to our holiday sweets list this year for gifts and cookie/candy trays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This recipe is phenomenal. I've made toffee without the saltines and there is something about those crackers that makes them go faster then my "regular" toffee. I do them in batches using 35 saltines 1 cup sugar, 1 cup butter and 1 bag of Ghirardelli milk chocolate chips. I use vanilla instead of corn syrup and add my nutt of choice. SCRUMPTIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
YUM! This tastes like my fav toffee candy bar. I followed the recipe exactly. It really does take the 20 min cook time for the toffee (for some reason I thought it would reach temp sooner;nope :}). I used a 2.5 qt saucepan b/c the (hot) toffee swells during cooking. Get those almonds on quickly so they don't fall off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitesboro, New York, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I made this at Christmas time as gifts, and I ended up eating most of it myself...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewisporte, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This turned out really good and it was so easy I followed the suggestion to melt the butter/sugar and then the chocolate in the microwave. So much easier. It definately needed more chocolate than called for in the recipie. My husband was really skeptial at first but he really liked these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
First, I was watching the candy thermometer inch up to 300 degrees where it indicates hard candy, and I could smell the pan burning. Bottom of my pan was scorched black. Poured over saltines but it was already getting hard. Quickly put entire bag of chips and spread. After it hardened in the freezer, I began to break into pieces and a lot of the chocolate was separating and coming off the toffee layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Thompson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
YUM!!! This recipe is delicious and I received rave reviews from family members and coworkers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy M. Harter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Very yummy, but I added more chocolate. I made a half batch and used 1 1/2 cups of chocolate chips...or maybe even more :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States