Ghirardelli® Chocolate Saltine Toffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
My mom used to make these when we were kids. Her version of the recipe came from an older lady who called them Paradise Cookies (very fitting). I used half the sugar, otherwise this is just too sweet. I also used vanilla instead of corn syrup, which was suggested by several other cooks. Great suggestion! Every time I make this someone wants the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NaturallyEast

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
It was delicious! I added chopped peanuts on the top. The salty touch was great with the sugar and bittersweet chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Quite good and not difficult to make. Makes WAY beyond 10 servings. You *need* a candy thermometer. TIP 1: Watch very carefully when it goes above 310 - the last 20 degrees climbs very quickly, and it will burn within 20 seconds if you pass 350. TIP 2: parchment paper - not wax, not foil - is needed. Otherwise, it will stick to the toffee as the toffee mixture seeps between the cracks/holes of the crackers. Great for a snack when visiting someone. Put in colorful canisters or wrap in colored transparent paper to make yummy gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Best Toffee I have ever made. I bake only with Ghirardelli Chocolate!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Very yummy, but I added more chocolate. I made a half batch and used 1 1/2 cups of chocolate chips...or maybe even more :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I made this at Christmas time as gifts, and I ended up eating most of it myself...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewisporte, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
First, I was watching the candy thermometer inch up to 300 degrees where it indicates hard candy, and I could smell the pan burning. Bottom of my pan was scorched black. Poured over saltines but it was already getting hard. Quickly put entire bag of chips and spread. After it hardened in the freezer, I began to break into pieces and a lot of the chocolate was separating and coming off the toffee layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Thompson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This turned out really good and it was so easy I followed the suggestion to melt the butter/sugar and then the chocolate in the microwave. So much easier. It definately needed more chocolate than called for in the recipie. My husband was really skeptial at first but he really liked these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Excellent recipe. This turned out so well and the instructions were clear and concise, which I appreciated. Looks beautiful, tastes awesome. My husband is not a big sweets eater and I had to keep herding him away from this. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This recipe is phenomenal. I've made toffee without the saltines and there is something about those crackers that makes them go faster then my "regular" toffee. I do them in batches using 35 saltines 1 cup sugar, 1 cup butter and 1 bag of Ghirardelli milk chocolate chips. I use vanilla instead of corn syrup and add my nutt of choice. SCRUMPTIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States