Ghirardelli Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake Hearts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
For the latest reviewer I have the same questions. I just baked mine in the 9x13 pan and its much to thick to cut with any cookie cutter. I believe the people that cut it with a cookie cutter made them before the recipe was revised to 4- 8oz creme cheese. I realized I had a pampered chef heart shaped bread pan so I'm going to try cutting the hearts with that. Next time I'll either double the crust recipe and make 2 9x13 pans or half the recipe. Sorry I think we are in the same boat as for now. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Winfield, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Are people NOT READING the recipe right.It states 4-8oz. pkgs of cream cheese,not 4 oz. of an 8oz pkg.If they would use the appropriate amount, they will realize how good this really is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shenandoah, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ringtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Excellent recipe Best cheesecake i've ever made. I'm planning to use this for Valentine's day dinner as well. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Ghirardelli has changed the amount of cream cheese in this recipe from 4 oz. to 4 (8-oz.) packages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hillary
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
My boyfriend had requested a Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake for his birthday. This came out delicious, but I did make the following changes: 1. I used 12 oz of cream cheese, after reading reviews that 4 oz was just not enough. 12 oz worked well. Very rich but very delish. 2. I used fresh raspberries (1pint). Made no difference when boiling them...had a very hard time getting the seeds out so I left them in. No one could tell. 3. I did not use all of the chocolate in the cheesecake. I tasted the batter after added about half and it was so rich I could not imagine what it would have been like if I added it all. Overall, very yummy. It's really not that cheesecakey though. and also, very heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hillary

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I used strawberries instead of rasberries. I also put the ganache on top. I then added the strawberry puree, and finished it off with fresh strawberries around it. It was completely delicious! I did use 8oz of cream cheese instead of 4 oz (I agree that the 4 oz was a misprint). The chocolate did have a stronger flavor than the strawberries, so I also recommend adding more of the cheesecake filling to berry portion of the cheesecake. Overall, a complete success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Fantastic, very rich and creamy - loved this recipe for a Valentines treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I was very disappointed with this recipe. First, I could not find chocolate graham crackers so I used chocolate graham animal crackers and chopped them fine...(probably much more expensive). I added the whole 8 oz of cream cheese as 4 oz seemed way to little and still the cake was way too dense. Would not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Everyone is right, you need at least 8oz (1 package) of cream cheese for this recipe. Followed what they said it was fantastic! Beware, it's more like an expensive truffle than actual cheesecake. Which turned out to be a happy surprise. Boyfriend called it the best desert I'd ever made. The way the recipe is set up results in more chocolate layer than raspberry, but I stuck with the recipe. I don't know how to alter the bottom, but it was very thick and crunchy. Next time I might try using less graham crackers to make it less thick. I also did not have any heavy cream on hand; I used a milk, flour, and butter substitute for the heavy cream and it turned out wonderful. Four stars because the cream cheese is wrong in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This recipe was a huge disappointment. If I was new to baking I might have thought I made a mistake, but i have made plenty of cheesecakes and none were like this. I should have read the other reviews where people decided to add more cream cheese. I followed the directions however, and came out with a cake that had a HARD chocolate bottom layer, and an almost nonexistent, thin raspberry layer on top. Neither of which resembled cheesecake. The puree was the only part of the recipe that seemed to come out as described. It's a good thing my man loves me despite my decision to try a new recipe! I will definitely not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States