Ghirardelli Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
THESE ARE NOT WHOLE EGGS!! Separate the eggs, and whip only the whites. I know it doesn't say to, but just do it. Whole eggs won't whip properly, and you won't get it to set up the way you want it to. That said, this is a fantastic recipe. Couldn't be tastier. Just don't waste eggs by trying to whip them whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Very easy to make and very tasty. The first time I made I skipped using the coffee - the coffee really adds to the flavor of the chololate so don't skip that step. And be careful not to over whip the cream. If it is too stiff your mousse will come out lumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
It was wonderful! My hubby who is a mousse-snob wanted to eat it all. My picky daughters enjoyed it too, which is surprising. Of course, I made him share. It was easy to make as well. I will definitely make this for my family again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I'm sure it would have been wonderful, if I did it right. I was mixing the eggs and whipped cream by hand, though, and after about a half-hour and some wrist-cramps, I thought "these eggs aren't getting any fluffier or thicker", so I figured that was as fluffy as it was supposed to be. I was wrong, and it ended up being too runny (tasted great, but mousse should be spooned, not sipped). I had made a double recipe, and was concerned about wasting delicious ingredients. Fortunately I'm a problem solver and added some Trader Joe's wholegrain pancake mix, and baked it for 1/2 hour and made some pretty good brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
There was no hesitation in rating this recipe. Everyone said 5 stars immediately. This is a fabulous recipe with deep dark chocolate flavor. The mixture does thicken quickly when you add the coffee so have all your additions ready to stir in. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
AMAZING! I am testing mousses for chocolate cordial cup fillings for a shower and I bought the Ghirardelli Semi-Sweet Chocolate chips. I am sure the cacao is great too, but wanted a bit sweeter. I accidently put the coffee in with the chocolate before the egg and sugar were thick, but I just kept simmering and stirring the mix and it turned out fabulous! Thanks soooo much, will be using this recipe alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This tasted really good. Except I was a little dissapointed because mine never got really thick like the photo posted. That is why I had chosen this recipe. But, I could think of a ton of ways to serve this. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This was fantastic. I used the scaling function to reduce this to 2 servings and it was perfect for our Valentine's Day dessert. I did add about 1/2 tsp vanilla extract as I was adding the whipped cream. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I have a stand-by favorite chocolate mousse recipe I’ve been using for years (since it’s Hubs’ favorite dessert) but today I felt like trying something new. I liked this recipe, however, for my own comfort I needed to make some modifications. First, I did not add the coffee. I didn’t feel the need to “enhance” the chocolate flavor, especially at the expense of risking having my good Scharffenberger chocolate seize on me. Second, I knew I’d need this to be sweeter and lighter. I separated the eggs, beating the egg yolks into the slightly cooled chocolate. I beat the egg whites to stiff peaks, adding a tablespoon of sugar (to one half recipe). I folded those beaten egg whites gently into the chocolate mixture. Finally, I sweetened the whipped cream as well, adding 2 T. of powdered sugar and 1/2 tsp. vanilla (again, the recipe scaled to four servings), then folded them in last. This turned out just as I had hoped – smooth, rich, creamy and deliciously chocolate. Since this was a special birthday dessert for Hubs (his request) I piped this into dark chocolate dessert shells, and served it surrounded by a homemade raspberry coulis. I garnished it with fresh mint, a fanned strawberry and genuine gold leaf flakes. Beautiful. Hubs was quite pleased. I’m rating this four rather than five stars, as I’m not so sure I would have been as happy with this had I followed the directions as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
absolutely delicious! first i put caramel sauce in the bowl, then added the mousse, topped it off with homemade whipped cream and a raspberry! i made this for a party and everyone LOVED it.... expensive to make, but so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States