Ghirardelli Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Wow! My Dad absolutely loves chocolate mousse, so I've tried quite a few recipes over the years. This is the simplest by far and the end result was decadent. I made a pie using one of those Chocolate crumb crusts, drizz;ed w/ melted chocolate on top; it got rave reviews at our birthday get-together. (Fortunately there were two slices left for Dad to take home w/ him.) I did use the whole egg, not just the whites. It does not whip up like just egg whites would, but it does get "fluffy and thick" as the recipe states. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla, used a blend of 60% & semi-sweet Ghirardelli chips. Absolutely wonderful! This is my new "Go To" mousse recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I've made this several times without the coffee. Absolutely fabulous each time. I did whip the egg whites and the yolks separately as advised. I think I'll add the coffee next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
My family found that the bittersweet chocolate plus the coffee put the 'bitter' flavor too intense. I'll try again with semi-sweet. I did separate the eggs so as to 'meringue' the whites. I found also that I over whipped the whipping cream and it really was too difficult to smooth out in the end product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Delish! Made for a party. Served in chocolate bowls, with a raspberry sauce from White Chocolate Raspberry Mousse recipe(on this site) and fresh raspberries. It was wonderful. I substituted store brand 60% chocolate in this recipe and it was still wonderful. In the raspberry sauce I used Chambord rather than orange liquor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Three words........yummy, yum, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kortega
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
This is an amazing recipe! I thought it was going too be difficult like other chocolate mousse recipes i've tried in the past, but I was pleasantly surprised by the ease and result it produced. I will be using this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kortega

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I had never made mousse before this recipe. This was very easy and delicious. I don't think think the Ghirardelli chips are really necessary, because it was just as good the second time around with semi-sweet chips. I also did hazelnut flavoured coffee the second time around, which I thought added nice depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Good. Like another reviewer said, use egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Made it with 1/8 coffee and 1/8 Grand Marnier and it tasted great. Make sure you beat the eggs for 10 mins (yes the whole eggs). I used my stand mixer. I did put my stainless steel bowl in the fridge for 30 mins before I whipped the cream and it whipped up really fast. Will be making this again today. I also made a white chocolate mousse and layered the two together and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alley
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Delish! Remember to use egg whites not whole eggs of else the egg doesn't get that fluffy texture. For garnish some good options are mint leaves, raspberries, whipped cream, orange twists, orange zest, and fresh stevia leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States