Ghirardelli Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
THESE ARE NOT WHOLE EGGS!! Separate the eggs, and whip only the whites. I know it doesn't say to, but just do it. Whole eggs won't whip properly, and you won't get it to set up the way you want it to. That said, this is a fantastic recipe. Couldn't be tastier. Just don't waste eggs by trying to whip them whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Very easy to make and very tasty. The first time I made I skipped using the coffee - the coffee really adds to the flavor of the chololate so don't skip that step. And be careful not to over whip the cream. If it is too stiff your mousse will come out lumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
It was wonderful! My hubby who is a mousse-snob wanted to eat it all. My picky daughters enjoyed it too, which is surprising. Of course, I made him share. It was easy to make as well. I will definitely make this for my family again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I'm sure it would have been wonderful, if I did it right. I was mixing the eggs and whipped cream by hand, though, and after about a half-hour and some wrist-cramps, I thought "these eggs aren't getting any fluffier or thicker", so I figured that was as fluffy as it was supposed to be. I was wrong, and it ended up being too runny (tasted great, but mousse should be spooned, not sipped). I had made a double recipe, and was concerned about wasting delicious ingredients. Fortunately I'm a problem solver and added some Trader Joe's wholegrain pancake mix, and baked it for 1/2 hour and made some pretty good brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
There was no hesitation in rating this recipe. Everyone said 5 stars immediately. This is a fabulous recipe with deep dark chocolate flavor. The mixture does thicken quickly when you add the coffee so have all your additions ready to stir in. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This tasted really good. Except I was a little dissapointed because mine never got really thick like the photo posted. That is why I had chosen this recipe. But, I could think of a ton of ways to serve this. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
AMAZING! I am testing mousses for chocolate cordial cup fillings for a shower and I bought the Ghirardelli Semi-Sweet Chocolate chips. I am sure the cacao is great too, but wanted a bit sweeter. I accidently put the coffee in with the chocolate before the egg and sugar were thick, but I just kept simmering and stirring the mix and it turned out fabulous! Thanks soooo much, will be using this recipe alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This was fantastic. I used the scaling function to reduce this to 2 servings and it was perfect for our Valentine's Day dessert. I did add about 1/2 tsp vanilla extract as I was adding the whipped cream. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
absolutely delicious! first i put caramel sauce in the bowl, then added the mousse, topped it off with homemade whipped cream and a raspberry! i made this for a party and everyone LOVED it.... expensive to make, but so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This was fantastic! Thick and dark chocolate taste...the whole family loved it. I used espresso instead of coffee, which worked well. I added chocolate gram-crust crumbles to bottom of of glass and topped with homemade whipped cream. Delightful dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States