Ghirardelli Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Mousse turned out as pictured! So I noticed some weren't getting the texture for the mousse in the picture so I will give some tips on how to achieve this. Ingredients are exact as recipe calls for, which means you use the WHOLE egg not just the whites like other reviewers have said. It is also unnecessary to cook your chocolate over the stove. So first you must put a metal bowl with metal mixer blades in freezer for 30 min before hand. Take out and add cream, mix with hand mixer on high for 7 mins while holding the bowl at an angle to let the cream get more air incorporated into it. You must use a mixer for this! Hand mixing with a whisk will not be fast enough. Next take another medium sized bowl and add all the eggs and sugar, Mix with hand mixer for 7 mins with the same weird angle as the cream to incorporate more air. The eggs will triple in size being fluffy and thick like the cream. put aside eggs once done. Take chocolate and put into a medium sized glass bowl, put in microwave for 15 seconds and ONLY 15 seconds! If you do this longer you will burn and ruin it all. Take out of microwave and add coffee, mix, then put back in microwave for another 15 seconds, take out and mix completely. It will be nice creamy and smooth. Then once this is done add eggs to chocolate mix completely with a spoon, then add cream and mix completely. Refrigerate for 2 hours in desired cup and then it comes out thick,and perfect like picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I thought this recipe was great. It turned out really well for me! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
will have to try this again. I decided to try the recipe following all the steps carefully, I already think it's not going to come out as expected. I should have known not to whip eggs with yolk, never turned out fluffy. I think you should edit the recipe steps, it looks just like pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beerUs

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cmartinese
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Superb! It does get a little dicey when you add the coffee to the melted chocolate. Do yourself a favor and have everything ready and in front of you when the coffee is added. I've made this 6-7 times and it always comes out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
It was good, but the eggs never got fluffy and it tasted of very strong coffee, (i don't like coffee). I would recommend using sweeter chocolate and skipping on the coffee. Otherwise it was thick and wasn't lumpy like others have said. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This mousse is exactly what mousse should taste like and feel like in your mouth. It does take some practice to perfect though; like the chocolate bumps/balls/specks one can sometimes get and you must be patient. This stuff needs to set up in fridge and the longer you let it be the better it gets. Ive had three day old and its just way better than day 1 or 2 even. I doubt that I'll ever try it at 4 days! Just keep trying and dont seperate the eggs. Making this again right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Perfect Mousse
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I have a stand-by favorite chocolate mousse recipe I’ve been using for years (since it’s Hubs’ favorite dessert) but today I felt like trying something new. I liked this recipe, however, for my own comfort I needed to make some modifications. First, I did not add the coffee. I didn’t feel the need to “enhance” the chocolate flavor, especially at the expense of risking having my good Scharffenberger chocolate seize on me. Second, I knew I’d need this to be sweeter and lighter. I separated the eggs, beating the egg yolks into the slightly cooled chocolate. I beat the egg whites to stiff peaks, adding a tablespoon of sugar (to one half recipe). I folded those beaten egg whites gently into the chocolate mixture. Finally, I sweetened the whipped cream as well, adding 2 T. of powdered sugar and 1/2 tsp. vanilla (again, the recipe scaled to four servings), then folded them in last. This turned out just as I had hoped – smooth, rich, creamy and deliciously chocolate. Since this was a special birthday dessert for Hubs (his request) I piped this into dark chocolate dessert shells, and served it surrounded by a homemade raspberry coulis. I garnished it with fresh mint, a fanned strawberry and genuine gold leaf flakes. Beautiful. Hubs was quite pleased. I’m rating this four rather than five stars, as I’m not so sure I would have been as happy with this had I followed the directions as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This was a great, and very easy, recipe. Use the whole egg... I don't know why people insist on changing recipes before they try them. I only had semi-sweet bakers chocolate which ended up being a little sweet (but my husband and I are on the paleo diet so most things are sweet to us). I suspect that if I used the suggested bittersweet chocolate, it would have been perfect. -- semi sweet chocolate was excellent as well, I just might cut back on the sugar if I use semi-sweet again. *** NOTE: Mine came out runny so I poured it into individual serving dishes and let them set up over night (I think 2 hours would have worked though). Once I got to it, it was the consistency of serious mousse and I am confident that I could pipe it at that point to make it look like the posted picture. It needs to set first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamSBD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I read the instructions 3 times before trying it. Never heard of whipping Whole eggs before, but Oh well, it has 4.5 Stars so it must need them. WRONG, what a waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States