Ghirardelli® Chocolate Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
This was good, I used bread I had on hand, omitted the nutmeg. I found the chocolate taste to be light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This is very good. However, to suit my taste, I had to make some changes ( I am a chocoholic ). I used ghirardelli bittersweet chocolate chips ( 60% cacao ), increase cocoa powder to 1/2 cup and put 1 tbs instant coffee powder ( next time I will try espresso powder or half cup of coffee ). The coffee really brought out the chocolate flavour. I found this a little bit too sweet for me, next time I will reduce the sugar about 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HERLIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I am a chocolaholic and this was amazing, but a little too sweet.. I would reduce the amount of chocolate chips and sugar I put in next time. But an amazing sweet treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Excellent! Chocolatety, rich, incredibly indulgent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
The is a 4 star as is. Cut the chocolate chips in half and it is a 5 star!! It's delicious but waaay too sweet and I am a total chocoholic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JKigloo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
WOW! This was an intense chocolate flavor and absolutely delicious. I did halve the sugar per the other reviews and I'm glad I did - the chocolate chips gave it the right amount of sweetness. I also used 2% milk instead of whole to save some calories. Note that the bread should be about 4 cups. I learned from my last (disastrous)attempt at bread pudding and measured the bread as I cut it. 4.5 cups was equal to 3/4 of a baguette for me. If I had used the whole loaf it would have been too dry. If you like chocolate this is a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I found this decadent. Did what others suggested by reducing the sugar. Very yummy! Those who claimed they weren't a chocolate fan (as if that could even be possible) went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Very pleased with the results. I used a loaf of challah and, as others suggested, reduced sugar and cut the chocolate chips in 1/ 2. I also had some heavy cream in the fridge so I used 1/2 cream and 1/2 milk. My husband doesn't do overtly rich desserts, and he went back for seconds. Loved the textures of a crispy top with the soft raisins and bread. Pretty darn yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ddaisyy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Debi is vegan
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Very good! I made a few changes though. I omitted the nutmeg, vanilla & raisins and added 1 tsp of orange extract & 1 tsp of Grand Marinier. I substituted the 2 cups of sugar for 3/4 cup of Truvia. I love orange & chocolate together! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi is vegan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benicia, California, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States