G.G.'s Chocolate Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
My mom made the same cake but used walnuts and buttermilk in the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Chocolate sheet cake always goes over well at our family functions. While this wasn't the best sheet cake I've had or made it was good. I used a 10x15 sheet pan and it fit perfectly. Once you pour the batter into the pan be sure to pick pan up about and inch from the counter and drop to the counter a few times to pop the air bubbles. I forgot to do that and ended up with a very unevenly baked cake. I always pour the warm frosting over a warm cake. It's just the way I learned to make a cake like this. I left the pecans out of the frosting and toasted them in a dry non-stick skillet before adding them to the top of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
really a 10 star!!! have used this so many times i know it by heart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Bossa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hennessey, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: El Reno, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This is liteally better than anything else in existence. Ever. I usually up the cocoa amounts and add mini chocolate chips to the batter and glaze, just because I'm a little over-obsessed with chocolate. This is my favorite cake to make, and I've made it for my birthday, for parties, for others, and just because I feel like having chocolate, and it always pleases.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This was excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I haven't baked in a while but a guy I know had a birthday so I gave this a shot. The frosting was easy to decorate the cupcakes with and tastes like a wonderful fudge. Cake moist and held together well. On a few cupcakes I added marshmallow under frosting. Thank you for the recipe, the cupcakes are so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Good cake. Word of warning, this takes longer than 25 minutes to bake. The ends get done quick but it seems like the middle takes a while longer. Good flavor, but light in texture. As a personal preference I like a denser cake, but would still make again as a good base cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Delicious! We made this exactly as the recipe directed and it turned out perfect. I'm sure we'll be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Soooo good! Thank u for sharing! I made a gluten free version by substituting the flour with a gluten free baking mix. Could tell no difference! Making it again tonight. This is officially my go to recipe for chocolate cake! Spread my icing while it & the cake were still warm like another person suggested. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This cake is just....no words can describe it. YUM! I baked the batter into cupcakes and it was moist on the inside and very chocolaty. This one is most definitely and keeper. Thanks for sharing. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States