Get a Husband Brunswick Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Absolutely the BEST stew I've ever had! I was a little sceptical when reading the ingredients and noticed there were no potatos, but WOW! The only change I made was that I left out the chicken and added stew meat that I floured and browned before adding to the mixture. Hubby loved it too. Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
I don't know if this will get anyone a husband, but the one I have loved it. I am somewhat embarrassed to say that we had leftovers for breakfast this morning! The barbeque flavor in this stew is just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
This was excellent. I will make it again. I only added too cans of the creamed corn, though, because I tasted it after that amount and thought it might taste a little too "canned" if I added more. I also added one package of baby lima beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aCookInLaQuintaCA
Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
Excellent! This is definately one that I will pass along to friends and family. Instead of the meats listed, I used 2 pounds of hamburger and about 2 cups of shredded pork loin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YMATLOSZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
After reading all the rave reviews about this recipe, I decided that I had to try it. My husband took one bite and said, "This is the best thing I've ever eaten in my life"! (Doesn't say much for the rest of my cooking.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
3 stars for the version as is...I have a pot of it simmering right now and i'm a little disappointed with the texture. It's just a very mushy thick texture and not chunky. It tastes great and I will definitely make it again but i'm already planning to cut back on the ground meat to 1lb of each pork and beef and adding a few diced potatoes. I will also replace 1 can of the creamed corn with one can of regular corn for more "chunk" and I will not shred the chicken as much as I did before I added it since it shreds more as it cooks. I think with these revisions it would be awesome as the flavor is definitely there already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
Wow. This stew is awesome. Having only had the stuff from the can, this was such a treat! we ate it over rice, and we've got 2 freezer bags stowed away for a nice quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
I was unable to find any ground pork at our small local grocery store so I ended up using pork sausage instead. I'm sure it changed the flavor but the soup was still a huge hit. Now I'm not sure if I will continue to use the sausage or try it next with the plain ground pork (why change a successful experiment). I served the soup along with a spinach salad and home made corn muffins. The guests we had over for dinner said it was the "homiest" meal they have had in a long time and raved about it the rest of the evening! The men in the group felt it was a perfect meal to warm you up on a cool fall night and asked the wives to make some for their deer hunting camps. I have to say that's one of the best compliments a cook can recieve around this area. I will definately save this recipe and pass it on to my own grandchildren some day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
AMAZING! My husband loved it so much that he said he would marry me all over again if I made this for him again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
This turned out super! I cooked it for a football party and it was a big hit! I incorporated a few of the suggestions: used 1 lb. each of pork and beef, used .90 lb. chicken breast (boneless & skinless), substituted one can of creamed corn with niblets, bought my tomatoes pre-diced, and added a bag of baby lima beans. I also cooked this in my crock pot and it was almost to the top! It was not as thick because of that - it was more like chili - but nobody cared. The leftovers were thick, though! I will make this again for sure! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States