Get a Husband Brunswick Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I'm giving this stew 4 stars because I made quite a lot of adjustments as previous reviewers had stated. I added 1# each of ground beef, pork sausage, and leftover grilled shredded chicken(white & dark meat). This still was a ton of meat, but not overwhelming. Also added 1/2 of a bag og frozen corn, and baby limas, 1 can of creamed corn, & left out the ketchup. It was still pretty sweet. Next time I would like to use roast instead of ground, and put in more limas. Still really tasty. My 2, 5, & 11 year olds gobbled it up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Flannagin Urbanowitz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
i have been using this as a base for my stew for a couple years now. i add a couple items like a touch of roasted red chiles and sun dried tomatoes. overall the best i have ever had. kudos to you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Made this for 30 people and it was easy and outstanding. I used all tenderloin cuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This is an exceptional recipe. I grew up with Brunswick Stew my whole life and it was the center of community fundraisers and home cooked meals. I did alter a few things by adding on 2 cans of creamed corn and 2 cans of whole kernel. I also added 2 cans of crushed tomatoes and 1 can of whole vs the 3 whole tomatoes. I added a bag of the frozen lima beans and some cayenne pepper and hot sauce to taste. I didn't add the celery. I found that the hickory bbq sauce added a nice smokey flavor and was delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
already have a husband, but decided to go ahead with this recipe anyway and try to please him :) he overwhelmingly approved. my dinner plans were cancelled midway through my saturday, so i had no time to thaw out any meat. i halved this recipe and used only pork -also subbed b/s chicken for the whole chicken - and threw it all frozen into the crock pot on high. i was nervous about how that would all turn out, but about 5 hours later, it was simmering nicely and everything was cooked through. i removed the chicken and shredded it, and just used a wooden spoon to break up the ground pork. the veggies were tender even though i didn'tsaute anything first. hubby's only requests were that next time i decrease the onion and the bbq sauce - he felt they were a little overpowering. otherwise, he really enjoyed the taste of this stew. thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I went ahead and chopped the green pepper and put it in. I also went ahead and added the corn. That;s the way we did it growing up. Throw it all in the pot and cook it. Yummy!@
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBUKE49
Home Town: Roanoke, Alabama, USA
Living In: Lanett, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
DH and DD liked it, I thought it was a bit bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Not much to say, but YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johnchandler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
We've never had anything like it. We enjoyed it, but I don't know if it will get on the "when will you make it again list" but rather the I'll make it again from time to time and we all thought it was good but not great. It was a little on the sweet side so I think I would add spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This was so good! I used Carolina style BBQ sauce by KC Masterpiece instead of the hickory style. I added a can of lima beans. My family (husband and parents) really enjoyed it. We served it with a French Bread recipe from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States